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The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) Hotline (Hotline) will evaluate ev Q
Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect (SF114) it receives an %

recommendations about:

1. Whether or not the allegations meet the statutory definition of Chil@se and Neglect
(CA/N) and should be recommended for assessment, see separate policy, 3.8 Statutory
Definition of Child Abuse and/or Neglect (CA/N);

2. Whether or not the report contains enough information tqQ ide&i y or locate the child and
initiate an assessment; and

3. How quickly the assessment should be initiated. \J

\(PEDS) referral is mandatory for
tions of suspected abuse or neglect
an three (3) years of age with

Note: A Pediatric Evaluation and Diagnostic Sef

all children less than six (6) years of age with

involving the head or neck and all children |

allegations of suspected abuse or negle ing in fractures or burns or suspected

fractures or burns. Although this palicy states the age for mandatory PEDS referrals, all

intake reports involving injury (ﬁisp ed injury to the head or neck of any child, as
ardl

well as, fractures and burns re ess of age will be identified in the Management
Gateway for Indiana’s Kids (NS)GOI ) so local office staff may evaluate the need for a
non-mandatory referral to the gram. The PEDS program is available 24 hours a day,
seven (7) days a week.

in the home during an inci of domestic violence will be recommended to be sent to the DCS
local office with the focu the assessment being placed on the safety of the child. Other
domestic violence r d calls that meet the statutory definition of CA/N will also be
recommended tob nt to the DCS local office. See Practice Guidance for further information
and separate p%: , 3.8 Statutory Definition of Child Abuse and/or Neglect (CA/N).

Child Abuse and NeglecE (d@ intake reports that allege that a child witnessed or was present
t

The Hotli@(e Specialist (IS) will relay the CA/N intake report to the Hotline Intake
Supervisor=for review following the conclusion of the initial call from the reporter. The Hotline

Int ervisor will subsequently review the CA/N intake report upon receipt from the IS. See
sepdrate policy, 3.5 Supervisory Review of Child Abuse and/or Neglect (CA/N) Intake Reports.

All CA/N intake reports involving a child who voluntarily enters an emergency shelter or a
shelter care facility, without the presence or consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian will be
routed to the DCS local office for assessment. DCS must conduct an assessment concerning
the child no later than 48 hours after receiving notification from the emergency shelter or shelter
care facility. However, if the department has reason to believe that the child is a victim of child
abuse or neglect, the department will not notify the child’s parent, guardian, or custodian as to
the specific shelter or facility the child has entered.

DCS CW Manual/Chapter 3 Section 4: Initial Evaluation of Child Abuse and/or Neglect (CA/N)
Intake Reports
lof 5


http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/00114.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.08_Statutory_Definition_of_CAN.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.08_Statutory_Definition_of_CAN.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.08_Statutory_Definition_of_CAN.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.5_Supv_Review_of_CAN_Reports.pdf

Code References

IC 31-9-2: Family Law and Juvenile Law, Definitions

IC 31-34-1: Juvenile Law, Child in Need of Services

IC 31-36-3: Homeless Children

IC 34-6-2-34.5: Domestic or Family Violence

IC 35-41-1-6.5: Crime Involving Domestic or Family Violence Defined

PROCEDURE

At the conclusion of the reporter’s initial call the 1S will:

1. Complete the Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect (SF114) i K;

2. Screen thoroughly each individual named in the report in MaGIK;

3. Determine if the allegations meet the statutory definition of CA/N. See@@t’e policy,
3.8 Statutory Definition of Child Abuse and/or Neglect (CA/N);

4. Complete the following if the statutory definition of CA/N has been ¢
a. Recommend that the report be routed to the DCS local offi
b. Recommend how quickly the assessment should be initi nd determine if

response time is to be advanced. °
c. Evaluate if the report should be marked for a PEDSK& al.

arwnNpE

5. Send the Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abus}émeqlect (SF114) to the Hotline
Intake Supervisor to route for recommendation @YDCS local office;

Note: A Hotline Intake Specialist may not% supervisory review on any report.

PRACTICE GUIDANCE [REVISED] ‘x)

Pediatric Evaluation and Diagnosti ge\vice (PEDS) Referrals
Itis mandatory to complete a PERS referral for all children less than six (6) years of age
with an allegation of suspect use or neglect involving the head or neck (e.g. facial
bruising, scratches and red * % on the face/neck; mouth injuries, eye injuries, head bleeds,
skull fractures and a fractu urn involving the head/neck) and all children less than three
(3) years of age with allegatidns of suspected abuse or neglect resulting in fractures or
burns or suspected fr es or burns. All intake reports with suspected allegations of
suspected abuse or lect involving the head or neck of a child, as well as, allegations of
suspected abuseﬂa lect resulting in fractures and burns regardless of age will be identified
in MaGIK with® otation of “PEDS allegation is included in this Report”. Evaluations of all
reports ideqtifi hould include any information obtained from the child and/or family. FCMs
should utili tical thinking to evaluate and staff the situation with an FCM Supervisor to
determi ﬁ)& need exists to complete a non-mandatory PEDS referral for children of any age
with,in or suspected injury to the head or neck or with fractures or burns or suspected

%r%

Vi

fra or burns. A referral should also be considered, if a child, regardless of age, is unable
to provide an explanation for the injury or the explanation for the injury is not convincing and
there is reason to believe there is a pattern of repeated abuse. The PEDS program referral may
be found here: https://www.rileypeds.org/CP/Index.aspx.

Records Search

MaGIK may reveal pertinent information about the subjects of a CA/N report. The IS should
examine all information for “red flags” that would cause a reasonable person to have concerns
for the child’s safety and well-being or worker safety. Pertinent facts should be briefly
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http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/009/chapters/002/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/034/chapters/001/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/036/chapters/003/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/034/articles/036/chapters/002/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/035/articles/004/chapters/001/
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/00114.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.08_Statutory_Definition_of_CAN.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/00114.pdf
https://www.rileypeds.org/CP/Index.aspx

summarized in the allegations section of the CA/N intake report, such as dates and dispositions
of previous DCS reports, assessments, and cases.

Domestic Violence
The Hotline will recommend for assessment, domestic violence related reports that meet any of
the following criteria:
1. A child has witnessed a domestic violence incident and/or was present in the home
when a domestic violence incident occurred:;
2. The child has been physically injured because of intervening in or being present d @a
domestic violence incident;
3. There is reason to believe the child is intervening or will intervene in the domest
violence, placing him or her at risk of injury;
4. The child is likely to be injured during the domestic violence incident ( @ﬁg held
during violence, physically restrained from leaving);
5. The alleged domestic violence offender has made threats of homidide or suicide and has
access to weapons or firearms;
6. There are serious, recurring domestic violence incidents and/ @mestic violence is
occurring in combination with other significant risk factors ( substance abuse);

7. The alleged domestic violence offender does not allow n-offending parent and/or
child(ren) access to basic needs impacting their healt safety;

8. The alleged domestic violence offender has kiIIed,\@ped, substantially harmed, or is
making a believable threat to Kill, kidnap, or subs@l ly harm anyone in the family,

9. Serious injury to the non-offending parent (i ng, but not limited to, broken bones,
internal bleeding or injury, extensive brui cerations, poisoning, suffocating,

strangling, shooting, or severe malnarishiment);
10. Violence increasing in either frer%f\nc severity; and

including extended family members and pets; \
%

11. Weapons were used or threaterie

The Hotline will also consider the fc\‘o}ig factors prior to making a recommendation whether or
not to route domestic violence r reports for assessment:
Isolated victims wit Hpport;
Stalking behavior, ’\ilt ns of behaviors that are intimidating to the other party);
Interaction with isk factors including substance abuse or mental iliness;
Previous reports CS or LEA with the same or other child or adult victims;
Previous cor@ions for crimes against persons or serious drug offenses;
VioIatiQngérr Straining orders; and
Lack of&he community responses or resources.

NogosrwdhE

CA/N Re &vith No Allegation of Child Abuse and/or Neglect
If the r egarding an unaccompanied homeless child is made by an emergency shelter, a

hours of receiving notification from the emergency shelter or shelter care facility, even if abuse
or neglect is not alleged. However, if the department has reason to believe that the child is a
victim of child abuse or neglect, the department may not notify the child’s parent, guardian, or
custodian as to the specific shelter or facility the child has entered.

Homeless Unaccompanied Minor
A homeless unaccompanied minor is an individual who is under the age of 18 and is receiving
shelter without a parent, guardian, or custodian present.
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Emancipated Minors
Shelters are not required to report providing shelter to emancipated minors to DCS. Reports for
emancipated minors will not be recommended for assessment.

Safe Haven
A child is considered to be eligible for consideration under the Safe Haven Act when he/she is,
or appears to be, not more than 30 days of age and whose parent:

1. Has knowingly or intentionally left the child with an emergency medical services

provider; and @
2. Did not express an intent to return for the child. Q

| FORMS AND TOOLS

Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect (SF114)

il

Yoo 4
| RELATED INFORMATION [REVISED] 1\
O N
Allegations that Occurred in the Past \
DCS reserves the right to assess allegations of CA/N, no how long ago the alleged
incidents occurred. This is despite the statute of limitatio ive to CA/N (IC 35-41-4-2

Periods of Limitation), which sets forth the time limits ft prosecution of CA/N. The offenses
listed in the Child in Need of Services (CHINS) defini %are either felonies or misdemeanors
and are subject to the statute of limitation, after whi e prosecution is barred. A Class B,
Class C, or Class D felony cannot be prosecuted‘ualess the prosecution is commenced within
five (5) years after the commission of the o(f%yand the prosecution of a misdemeanor must
be commenced within two (2) years. Aﬁg\sec tion for murder or a Class A felony may be
commenced at any time. The time lipit foR\certain sexual offenses is extended, as detailed
further in IC 35-41-4-2. K

Notification to department sfigation of a child; notification to parents (IC 31-36-3-3)

1. Except as provided in subs&gtion (d), if a child voluntarily enters an emergency shelter or a
shelter care facility, the emﬁr r facility shall notify the department, not later than 24 hours
after the child enters th

er or facility, of the following:
a. The name of tmhi d,
b. The Iocations shelter or facility, and

c. Whether ild alleges that the child is the subject of abuse or neglect.
2. The de ent shall conduct an investigation concerning the child not later than 48 hours
after regelipg notification from the emergency shelter or shelter care facility under subsection
(a)

3. iae department shall notify the child's parent, guardian, or custodian that the child is in an
emergency shelter or a shelter care facility not later than 72 hours after the child enters the
shelter or facility. However, if the department has reason to believe that the child is a victim of
child abuse or neglect, the department will not notify the child's parent, guardian, or custodian
as to the specific shelter or facility the child has entered; and
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4. An emergency shelter or a shelter care facility is not required to notify the department of a
child who is an emancipated minor.
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