Title or Description

Definition of Personal Information

Standard

Type

State

Reference

IC §24-4.9-2-10

Survey of Indiana Cyber Laws

Synopsis
“Personal information” means:
(1) a Social Security number that is not encrypted or redacted; or
(2) an individual's first and last names, or first initial and last name, and one (1) or more of the
following data elements that are not encrypted or redacted:
(A) A driver's license number.
(B) A state identification card number.
(C) A credit card number.
(D) A financial account number or debit card number in combination with a security code,
password, or access code that would permit access to the person's account.

The term does not include information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available
information or from federal, state, or local government records lawfully made available to the
general public.

Penalty

NA

Statute of
Limitations

NA

Enforcement

NA

House Enrolled Act No. 1294 - INSPECT Program

State

H.E.A. 1294 (2019)

P.L. 51-2019

(Adds Chapter 24
"Central Repository for
Controlled Substances
Data" Under Indiana
Code Title 25, Article
26).

The bill requires prescribers to have access to and utilize INSPECT, a state-sponsored website
database that allows practitioners to check a patient’s controlled substance prescription history.
See IC § 25-26-24-19(k).

"A person who knowingly or
intentionally releases
confidential information in an
unauthorized manner violates
this chapter and commits a
Class A misdemeanor" IC § 25-
26-24-25.

Undefined by
statute.

Undefined by statute.

Telephone Solicitation of Consumers
("Do Not Call Law")

State

Ind. Code art. 24-4.7
(See Ind. Code § 24-4.7-

4, et seq.)

"A telephone solicitor may not make or cause to be made a telephone sales call to a telephone
number if that telephone number appears in the most current quarterly listing published by the
division." Ind. Code § 24-4.7-4-1.

An injunction to enjoin future
violations;

$10,000 for the first call;
$25,000 for subsequent calls;
all money the defendant
obtained through their
violation of this law;

the attorney general's
reasonable costs in
investigation of the deceptive
act and maintaining the action;
reasonable attorney's fees;
costs of the action. Ind. Code &
24-4.7-5-2(a).

2 years after the call
is made. Ind. Code §
24-4.7-5-4.

Attorney General. Ind. Code § 24-4.7-

5-1.

2019 Update

Removed the information
regarding Senate Bill 211
(2018) and replaced with
information regarding
H.E.A. 1294 (2019) which
repealed and replaced the
legislation created by SB
211 (2019)




Survey of Indiana Cyber Laws

2019 Update

Increased the synopsis to
include the specific
deceptive actions which
can be committed.

Standard Statute of
Title or Description Type Reference Synopsis Penalty Limitations Enforcement
An injunction to enjoin future
violations;
$10,000 for the first call;
$25,000 for subsequent calls;
all money the defendant
obtained through their
violation of this law; the
attorney general's reasonable
"A telephone solicitor may not make or cause to be made a telephone sales call to a telephone |costs in investigation of the
number if that telephone number appears in the most current quarterly listing published by the |deceptive act and maintaining
division." Ind. Code § 24-4.7-4-1. the action; reasonable
attorney's fees; costs of the 2 years after the
A Telephone sales call can be defined as the "transmission of: a text message . . ." Ind. Code § 24-|action. Ind. Code § 24-4.7-5- text is made. Ind. Attorney General. Ind. Code § 24-4.7-
Do Not Text Law State Ind. Code art. 24-4.7  |4.7-2-9(b) 2(a). Code § 24-4.7-5-4. |5-1.
"A person who is not the owner or operator of the computer may not knowingly or
intentionally: (1) transmit computer software to the computer; and (2) by means of the
computer software transmitted under subdivision (1), do any of the following: (A) use
intentionally deceptive means to modify computer settings...(B)Use intentionally deceptive
means to collect personally identifying information...(C) Extract the hard drive of an owner or
operator's computer...(D) Use intentionally deceptive means to prevent reasonable efforts by an
owner or operator to block or disable the installation or execution of computer software...(E)
Knowingly or intentionally misrepresent that computer software will be uninstalled or
disabled...(F) Use intentionally deceptive means to remove, disable, or otherwise make
inoperative security, antispyware, or antivirus computer software installed on the
computer...(G) Take control of another person's computer with the intent to cause damage to  |Enjoin further violations; to
the computer or cause the owner to incur a financial charge for a service that the owner or recover the greater of either
operator has not authorized...(l) Prevent reasonable efforts by an owner or operator to block or |damages or $100,000. Ind. Undefined by Private right of action. Ind. Code §
Prohibited Spyware State Ind. Code art. 24-4.8  |disable the installation or execution of computer software..." Ind. Code § 24-4.8-2-2. Code § 24-4.8-3-1. statute. 24-4.8-3-1.
An injunction to enjoin future
After a data security breach involving "personal information," a "data base owner" may need to |violations; Likely 2 years from
alert (1) affected Indiana residents, (2) the attorney general, (3) consumer reporting agencies (if |$150,000 per deceptive act; the |notification of
over 1,000 consumers effected), and (4) the data base owner (if the breached party is not the attorney general's reasonable |Attorney General.
data base owner). Must notify without unreasonable delay (likely within 30 days of the breach  |costs Undefined by the Attorney General. Ind. Code § 24-4.9-
Disclosure of Security Breach Act State Ind. Code art. 24-4.9  |discovery). Ind. Code § 24-4.9-3-1; Ind. Code § 24-4.9.-3-2; Ind. Code § 24-4.9-3-3. Ind. Code § 24-4.9.-4-2. statute. 4-2
An injunction to enjoin further
"A data base owner shall implement and maintain reasonable procedures, including taking any |violations; Likely 2 years from
appropriate corrective action, to protect and safeguard from unlawful use or disclosure any $5,000 per deceptive act; and |notification of
personal information of Indiana residents collected or maintained by the data base owner... A |the attorney general's Attorney General.
Ind. Code § 24-4.9-3- |person that knowingly or intentionally fails to comply with any provision of this section commits |reasonable costs. Ind. Code § |Undefined by the Attorney General. Ind. Code § 24-4.9-
Protection of Personal Information State 3.5¢ a deceptive act .. ." Ind. Code § 24-4.9-3-3.5(c), (e). 24-4.9-3-3.5(f). statute. 3-3.5(f)




Title or Description

Disposal of Personal Information

Standard

Type

State

Reference

Ind. Code § 24-4.9-3-
3.5(d)

Survey of Indiana Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"A data base owner shall not dispose of or abandon records or documents containing
unencrypted and unredacted personal information of Indiana residents without shredding,
incinerating, mutilating, erasing, or otherwise rendering the personal information illegible or
unusable ... A person that knowingly or intentionally fails to comply with any provision of this
section commits a deceptive act . .." Ind. Code § 24-4.9-3-3.5(d)-(e).

Penalty

An injunction to enjoin further
violations;

$5,000 per deceptive act; and
the attorney general's
reasonable costs. Ind. Code &
24-4.9-3-3.5(f).

Statute of
Limitations

Likely 2 years from
notification of
Attorney General.
Undefined by the
statute.

Enforcement

Attorney General. Ind. Code § 24-4.9-
3-3.5(f)

"A person who disposes of the unencrypted, unredacted personal information of a customer
without shredding, incinerating, mutilating, erasing, or otherwise rendering the information

illegible or unusable commits a Class C infraction. However, the offense is a Class A infraction if:

(1) the person violates this section by disposing of unencrypted, unredacted personal
information of more than one hundred customers; or (2) the person has prior unrelated

Class C or Class A infraction.

2 years. Ind. Code §

Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code §

Disposal of Personal Information State Ind. Code § 24-4-14-8 |judgement for a violation of this section." Ind. Code § 24-4-14-8 Ind. Code § 24-4-14-8. 34-28-5-1(c)(2) 34-28-5-1
Ind. Code § 13-20.5-10- |Covered entities cannot dispose of covered electronic devices in a landfill or through
Disposal of Electronic Waste State 1 incineration. Ind. Code § 13-20.5-10-1 None. Ind. Code § 13-20.5-10-2 [N/A N/A
$5,000 per knowingly deceptive
act. IC § 24-5-0.5-4(g).
The court may also (1) issue an
injunction; (2) order the
supplier to make payment of
the money unlawfully received
from the aggrieved consumers
to be held in escrow for
distribution to aggrieved
consumers...(4)order the
"A supplier may not commit an unfair, abusive, or deceptive act, omission, or practice in supplier to pay to the state the |2 years after the
connection with a consumer transaction. Such an act, omission, or practice by a supplier is a reasonable costs of the occurrence of the
violation of this chapter whether it occurs before, during, or after the transaction. An act, attorney general's investigation |deceptive act. Ind. |Private Right of action and Attorney
omission, or practice prohibited by this section includes both implicit and explicit and prosecution related to the |Code § 24-5-0.5- General. Ind. Code § 24-5-0.5-
Deceptive Consumer Sales Act State Ind. Code § 24-5-0.5 misrepresentations." Ind. Code § 24-5-0.5-3(a). action. Ind. Code 24-5-0.5-4(c). |5(b). 4(a),(c).

2019 Update

Added additional
information to the
synopsis.
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Standard Statute of
Title or Description Type Reference Synopsis Penalty Limitations Enforcement
$10,000 for the first violation,
$25,000 for each violation after
the first violation. IC §24-5-14-
13.
The court may also (1) issue an
injunction; (2) order the
supplier to make payment of
the money unlawfully received
from the aggrieved consumers
to be held in escrow for
distribution to aggrieved
consumers...(4)order the
supplier to pay to the state the
reasonable costs of the 2 years after the
Indiana’s Auto Dialer law prohibits most prerecorded calls, commonly known attorney general's investigation |occurrence of the
as “robo-calls,” made via an automatic dialing-announcing device (“ADAD”) regardless and prosecution related to the |deceptive act. Ind. |Attorney General. Ind. Code § 24-5-
Regulation of Automatic Dialing Machines State Ind. Code § 24-5-14 of the subject matter of the message. Ind. Code § 24-5-14-5(b). action. Ind. Code 24-5-0.5-4(c)." |Code § 24-5-0.5-5. |14-13.
2 years after the
Prohibition on sending unsolicited facsimile ("fax") advertisements . The law applies to occurrence of the
Ind. Code § 24-5-0.5- |advertisements sent to residential and business fax numbers. Unlike the Do Not Call law, the Do |$5,000 per knowingly deceptive |deceptive act. Ind. |Attorney General. Ind. Code § 24-5-
Do Not Fax Law State 3(b)(19). Not Fax law does not require people to register their fax numbers. act. Ind. Code § 24-5-0.5-4(g) |Code § 24-5-0.5-5. |14-13.

Prohibition on sending unsolicited commercial electronic mail, when failing to comply with

Damages or $500 per email.

Undefined by

Private right of action. Ind. Code &

Deceptive Commercial Electronic Mail State Ind. Code § 24-5-22 statutory sending standards. Ind. Code § 24-5-22-8. Ind. Code § 24-5-22-10(d)(2).  |statute. 24-5-22-10(a).
Health Records and Identifying Information Provision relates to the Indiana Attorney General's responsibility related to abandoned health
Protection State Ind. Code § 4-6-14 records and other records that contain personal information. NA NA NA
"Any state agency that owns or licenses computerized data that includes personal information
shall disclose a breach of the security of the system following discovery or notification of the
breach to any state resident whose unencrypted personal information was or is reasonably
Notice of Security Breach Act for State Agencies State Ind. Code Ch. 4-1-11  |believed to have been acquired by an unauthorized person." Ind. Code § 4-1-11-5. NA NA NA
Level 6 felony. Ind. Code § 4-1-
10-8.
Release of Social Security Numbers by State Ind. Code § 4-1-10, et |Details the scope of permissible disclosures of Social Security numbers as well as the Class A infraction. Ind. Code & 4-|Undefined by Attorney General. Ind. Code §§ 4-1-
Agencies State seq. consequences for violations of the statute. 1-10-10. statute. 10-11; 4-1-10-12.
"When a state agency becomes aware of a release of Social Security numbers or other personal
identifying information,
Release of Social Security Numbers by State 10 Ind. Admin. Code § |the state agency or employee shall, within two (2) business days of the disclosure, notify the
Agencies, Notice to Attorney General: Rules Rule 5-4-1 office of attorney general for the state in writing . . ." NA NA NA

2019 Update
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Standard Statute of
Title or Description Type Reference Synopsis Penalty Limitations Enforcement
Prohibits the disclosure of personal information associated with motor vehicle records by the Class C misdemeanor. Ind. 2 years. Ind. Code § |Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code §
Driver's Privacy Protection Act ("DPPA") State Ind. Code § 9-14-13-2 |Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Code § 9-14-13-11 34-28-5-1(c)(2) 33-39-1-5
Provision outlines the requirements for the state to obtain a warrant to intercept the telephonic |Suppression of Evidence. Ind.
Criminal Law - Wiretap Statute State Ind. Code § 35-33.5 or telegraphic communications of an individual. Code § 35-33.5-4-4. NA NA
Recover damages actually
suffered as a consumer as a 2 years from the
result of the deceptive act or  |mistreatment date.
Provision outlines the duties of those that conduct trade or commerce concerning the $500, whichever is greater. Ind. |Ind. Code § 24-5-26- |Attorney General. Ind. Code § 24-5-
Rights of Victims of Identity Deception: Civil State Ind. Code § 24-5-26-2 |protections for victims of identity theft. Code § 24-5-26-3 3 26-3
Provision outlines the duty of law enforcement agencies concerning identity theft and the
Rights of Victims of Identity Deception: Criminal  |State Ind. Code § 35-40-14  |protections for victims of identity theft. NA NA NA
A person who knowingly or intentionally and who without authorization:
(1) modifies data, a computer program, or supporting documentation;
(2) destroys data, a computer program, or supporting documentation; or
(3) discloses or takes data, a computer program, or supporting documentation that is:
(A) a trade secret (as defined in IC 24-2-3-2); or (B) otherwise confidential as provided by law;
Criminal Law - Offense Against Intellectual and that resides or exists internally or externally on a computer, computer system, or computer |Level 6 Felony. Ind. Code § 35- |5 years. Ind. Code § |Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code §
Property State Ind. Code § 35-43-1-7 |network, commits an offense against intellectual property, a Level 6 felony. 50-2-7 35-41-4-2(a)(1) 33-39-1-5
(a) A person who knowingly or intentionally and who without authorization:
(1) disrupts, denies, or causes the disruption or denial of computer system services to an
authorized user of the computer system services that are:
(A) owned by; (B) under contract to; or (C) operated for, on behalf of, or in conjunction with;
another person in whole or part;
(2) destroys, takes, or damages equipment or supplies used or intended to be used in a
computer, computer system, or computer network;
(3) destroys or damages a computer, computer system, or computer network; or
(4) introduces a computer contaminant into a computer, computer system, or computer network;
commits an offense against computer users, a Level 6 felony. (b) However, the offense is:
(1) a Level 5 felony if:
(A) the pecuniary loss caused by the offense is at least seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) but
less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000);
(B) the offense was committed for the purpose of devising or executing any scheme or artifice to
defraud or obtain property; or
(C) the offense interrupts or impairs:
(i) a governmental operation; or
(i) the public communication, transportation, or supply of water, gas, or another public service;
and
(2) a Level 4 felony if:
(A) the pecuniary loss caused by the offense is at least fifty thousand dollars ($50,000); or Level 6 Felony. Ind. Code & 35- |5 years. Ind. Code & |Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code § 33-
Criminal Law - Offense Against Computer Users State Ind. Code § 35-43-1-8 |(B) the offense endangers human life. 50-2-7 35-41-4-2(a)(1) 39-1-5

2019 Update




Title or Description

Criminal Law - Identity Deception

Standard

Type

State

Reference

Ind. Code § 35-43-5-3.5

Survey of Indiana Cyber Laws

Synopsis
(a) Except as provided in subsection (c), a person who knowingly or intentionally obtains,
possesses, transfers, or uses the identifying information of another person, including the
identifying information of a person who is deceased:
(1) without the other person's consent; and
(2) with intent to: (A) harm or defraud another person; (B) assume another person's identity; or
(C) profess to be another person;
commits identity deception, a Level 6 felony.

Penalty

Level 6 Felony. Ind. Code § 35-
50-2-7

Statute of
Limitations

5years. Ind. Code §
35-41-4-2(a)(1)

Enforcement

Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code §
33-39-1-5

Criminal Law - Synthetic Identity Deception

State

Ind. Code § 35-43-5-3.8

(a) A person who knowingly or intentionally obtains, possesses, transfers, or uses the synthetic
identifying information:

(1) with intent to harm or defraud another person;

(2) with intent to assume another person's identity; or

(3) with intent to profess to be another person;

commits synthetic identity deception, a Level 6 felony.

Level 6 Felony. Ind. Code § 35-
50-2-7

5 years. Ind. Code §
35-41-4-2(a)(1)

Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code §
33-39-1-5

Criminal Law - Fraud

State

Ind. Code § 35-43-5-4

Encompasses different types of fraud including obtaining property by use of another's credit
card unlawfully.

NA

5vyears. IC § 35-41-4-
2(a)(1)

Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code § 33-

39-1-5

Criminal Law - Unlawful Possession of a Card

Skimming Device

State

Ind. Code § 35-43-5-4.3

A person who possesses a card skimming device with intent to commit:

(1) identity deception (IC 35-43-5-3.5);

(2) synthetic identity deception (IC 35-43-5-3.8);

(3) fraud (IC 35-43-5-4); or

commits unlawful possession of a card skimming device. Unlawful possession of a card skimming
device under subdivision (1), (2), or (3) is a Level 6 felony. Unlawful possession of a card
skimming device under subdivision (4) is a Level 5 felony.

Level 5 Felony. Ind. Code § 35-
50-2-6

5 years. Ind. Code §
35-41-4-2(a)(1)

Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code §
33-39-1-5

Unlawful Recording

State

Ind. Code § 35-46-8-4

"A person who knowingly or intentionally uses an audiovisual recording device in a motion
picture exhibition facility with the intent to transmit or record a motion picture commits
unlawful recording, a Class B misdemeanor."

Class B misdemeanor. Ind.
Code § 35-50-3-3

2 years. Ind. Code &
35-41-4-2(a)(2)

Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code § 33-

39-1-5

Unlawful Photography and Surveillance of Private

Property

State

Ind. Code § 35-46-8.5-1

"A person who knowingly or intentionally places a camera or electronic surveillance equipment
that records images or data of any kind while unattended on the private property of another
person without the consent of the owner or tenant of the private property commits a Class A
misdemeanor."

Note: Multiple exceptions are enumerated within the statute.

Class A misdemeanor. Ind.
Code § 35-50-3-2

2 years. Ind. Code §
35-41-4-2(a)(2)

Prosecuting Attorney. Ind. Code §
33-39-1-5

State Insurance Commissioners

Navigators and Application Organizations

State

760 Ind. Admin. Code &
4-5-2

"Navigators and application organizations shall comply with the following safeguards to
maintain and protect the confidentiality of personal information."

Not less than $50 and up to
$10,000 per violation. 760 Ind.
Admin. Code § 4-7-1(d)

NA

If a navigator or application
organization does not comply with
the requirements of this rule, the
commissioner may initiate an
enforcement action against the
navigator or application
organization under 760 Ind. Admin.
Code 4-7.

2019 Update




Title or Description

Alabama Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Ala. Code § 8-38-5

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 1000 people
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 people
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if: over 10,000 residents or $500,000
® Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

$500,000 and $5,000 per day. Ala. Code § 8-38-9

Enforcement

Attorney General. Ala. Code § 8-38-9

Alabama Personal Information
Protection Act

Ala. Code § 8-38-3

"Each covered entity and third-party agent shall implement and maintain reasonable security measures to protect
sensitive personally identifying information against a breach of security."

Most likely, this would be considered a deceptive
practice under Ala. Code § 8-19-5.

None

Alabama Unfair, Deceptive, or
Abusive Acts and Practices

Ala. Code § 8-19-5

"The following deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce are hereby declared to be
unlawful: ... (27) Engaging in any other unconscionable, false, misleading, or deceptive act or practice in the
conduct of trade or commerce."

Up to $2,000 per violation: Ala. Code § 8-19-11

Attorney General. Ala. Code § 8-19-4

Definition of Personal
Information

Ala. Code § 8-38-2

(6) SENSITVE PERSONALLY IDENTIFYING INFORMATION.

a. Except as provided in paragraph b., an Alabama resident's first name or first initial and last name in combination
with one or more of the following with respect to the same Alabama resident:

1. A non-truncated Social Security number or tax identification number.

2. A non-truncated driver's license number, state-issued identification card number, passport number, military
identification number, or other unique identification number issued on a government document used to verify the
identity of a specific individual.

3. A financial account number, including a bank account number, credit card number, or debit card number, in
combination with any security code, access code, password, expiration date, or PIN, that is necessary to access the
financial account or to conduct a transaction that will credit or debit the financial account.

4. Any information regarding an individual's medical history, mental or physical condition, or medical treatment or
diagnosis by a health care professional.

5. An individual's health insurance policy number or subscriber identification number and any unique identifier used
by a health insurer to identify the individual.

6. A user name or email address, in combination with a password or security question and answer that would permit
access to an online account affiliated with the covered entity that is reasonably likely to contain or is used to obtain
sensitive personally identifying information.

b. The term does not include either of the following:

1. Information about an individual which has been lawfully made public by a federal, state, or local government
record or a widely distributed media.

2. Information that is truncated, encrypted, secured, or modified by any other method or technology that removes
elements that personally identify an individual or that otherwise renders the information unusable, including
encryption of the data, document, or device containing the sensitive personally identifying information, unless the
covered entity knows or has reason to know that the encryption key or security credential that could render the
personally identifying information readable or useable has been breached together with the information.

NA

NA

N/A

2019 Update




Title or Description

Alabama Insurance Data
Security Law

Alaska Breach Notification Law

Reference

Act 2021-173. S.B. No. 54
(Adding Ch. 26 to Tit. 27;
Amending Ala. Code § 10A-
20-6.16)

Alaska Stat. § 45.48.010

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

Requires insurers to develop and implement an information security program, report certain cybersecurity events to
the Commissioner of Insurance and provides for civil penalties under certain conditions.

Two Important changes include:

(1) a new definition of personal information ("PI"). "Nonpublic information" refers to any electronic information that
is not publicly available concerning a consumer which, because of the name, number or other identifier, can be used
to identify the consumer in combination with any of the following elements: social security number; driver's license
number or Alabama identification card, financial account number, credit care, or debit car number; security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to a consumer's financial account; biometric records; any
information or data, except age or gender, derived form a health care provider that can be used to identify a
particular consumer that relates to: past, present or future physical mental, or behavioral health of a consumer or
member of the consumer's family, provision of health care to any consumer, or payment for the provision of health
care to any consumer.

(2) Notification of the Commissioner of Insurance within three business days if it is determined that a cybersecurity
even involving nonpublic information that is in the possession of the licensee has occurred.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if not disclosing to residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 people

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

« Substitute Notice: Yes, if: over 300,000 residents or $150,000
* Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

Revocation of license;
up to $10,000 per violation
Ala. Code § 27-62-10.

Up to $50,000: Alaska Stat. § 45.48.080(b)(1)

Enforcement

The Commissioner of Insurance. Ala. Code § 27

62-10.

Attorney General: Alaska Stat. §
44.23.020(b)(4)

Alaska Personal Information
Protection Act

Alaska Stat. § 45.48.430

"A person doing business, including the business of government, may not disclose an individual's social security
number to a third party."

Up to $3,000: Alaska Stat. § 45.48.480

Attorney General: Alaska Stat. §
44.23.020(b)(4)

Alaska Unfair, Deceptive, or
Abusive Acts and Practices

Alaska Stat. § 45.50.471

"Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of trade or commerce are
declared to be unlawful."

Between $1,000 and $25,000 per violation: Alaska
Stat. § 45.50.551

Attorney General: Alaska Stat. § 45.50.501

Definition of Personal
Information

Alaska Stat. § 45.48.090(7)

“personal information” means information in any form on an individual that is not encrypted or redacted, or is
encrypted and the encryption key has been accessed or acquired, and that consists of a combination of

(A) an individual's name; in this subparagraph, “individual's name” means a combination of an individual's

(i) first name or first initial; and

(ii) last name; and

(B) one or more of the following information elements:

(i) the individual's social security number;

(i) the individual's driver's license number or state identification card number;

(iii) except as provided in (iv) of this subparagraph, the individual's account number, credit card number, or debit
card number;

(iv) if an account can only be accessed with a personal code, the number in (iii) of this subparagraph and the personal
code; in this sub-subparagraph, “personal code” means a security code, an access code, a personal identification
number, or a password;

(v) passwords, personal identification numbers, or other access codes for financial accounts.

NA

NA

2019 Update

New Law

Changed "If not data owner, notify data owner:
Unclear" to "Yes." See § 45.48.070.




Title or Description

Arizona Breach Notification

Law

Reference

Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 18-552

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 1000 people

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 people
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Within 45 days

o Substitute Notice: Yes, if: over 100,000 people or $50,000
* Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

Up to $500,000: Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 18-552(L)

Enforcement

Attorney General: Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 18-552(L)

Arizona Unfair, Deceptive, or
Abusive Acts and Practices

Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 44-1522

"The act, use or employment by any person of any deception, deceptive or unfair act or practice, fraud, false
pretense, false promise, misrepresentation, or concealment, suppression or omission of any material fact with intent
that others rely on such concealment, suppression or omission, in connection with the sale or advertisement of any
merchandise whether or not any person has in fact been misled, deceived or damaged thereby, is declared to be an
unlawful practice."

Up to $10,000 per violation: Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 44-
1531

Attorney General: Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 44-1524

Definition of Personal

Information

Arkansas Breach Notification

Law

Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 18-551(7)

Ark. Code § 4-110-105

"Personal Information": (a) Means any of the following:

(i) An individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with one or more specified data elements.
(ii) An individual's user name or e-mail address, in combination with a password or security question and answer,
that allows access to an online account.

(b) Does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal,
state or local government records or widely distributed media.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 1000 people

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay; 45 days if over 1000 people
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if: 500,000 residents or $250,000

 Credit Monitoring: No

NA

Up to $10,000 per violation: Ark. Code §§ 4-110-

108; 4-88-113

NA

Attorney General: Ark. Code Ark. Code §§ 4-
110-108;§ 4-88-104

2019 Update

Statute is now cited as Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 18-552
instead of § 18-545.

Changed notification from "without unreasonable
delay" to "45 days": Beginning Aug. 1, 2018,
notification to affected individuals must be made
within 45 days after the determination that there
has been a security system breach.

Changed penalty from $10,000 to $500,000 and
cited updated statute.

Updated statute cited in enforcement section.

Amended by HB 1943.

Changed attorney general notice requirement to yes
if over 1000 people and days to notify to 45 if over
1000 people affected.




Title or Description

Arkansas Personal Information
Protection Act

Reference

Ark. Code § 4-110-104(b)

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"A person or business that acquires, owns, or licenses personal information about an Arkansas resident shall
implement and maintain reasonable security procedures and practices appropriate to the nature of the information
to protect the personal information from unauthorized access, destruction, use, modification, or disclosure"

Penalty

Up to $10,000 per violation: Ark. Code §§ 4-110-
108; 4-88-113

Enforcement

Attorney General: Ark. Code Ark. Code §§ 4-
110-108;§ 4-88-104

Concealment, surppression, or
omission of material facts

Ark. Code § 4-88-108

following is unlawful:

(1) The act, use, or employment by a person of any deception, fraud, or false pretense;

(2) The concealment, suppression, or omission of any material fact with intent that others rely upon the
concealment, suppression, or omission;

(3) Displaying or causing to be displayed a fictitious or misleading name or telephone number on an Arkansas
resident's caller identification service; or

(4) Using a third party to display or cause to be displayed a fictitious or misleading name or telephone number on an
Arkansas resident's caller identification service.

(b) Subdivision (a)(3) of this section does not apply to the transmission of a caller identification service by a
telecommunications provider that complies with § 23-17-122."

Up to $10,000 per violation: Ark. Code § 4-88-113

Attorney General: Ark. Code § 4-88-104

Definition of Personal
Information

California Breach Notification
Law: Person or business who
owns or licenses computerized
data including personal
information; breach of security
of the system; disclosure
requirments.

Ark. Code § 4-110-103(7)

Cal. Civ. Code § 1798.82

(7) “Personal information” means an individual's first name or first initial and his or her last name in combination
with any one (1) or more of the following data elements when either the name or the data element is not encrypted
or redacted:

(A) Social Security number;

(B) Driver's license number or Arkansas identification card number;

(C) Account number, credit card number, or debit card number in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to an individual's financial account; and

(D) Medical information; and

(E)(i) Biometric data.(ii) as used in this subdivision (7)(E), "biometric data" means data generated by automatic
measurements of an individual's biological characteristics, including without limitation: (a) Fingerprints; (b)
Faceprint; (c) A retinal or iris scan; (d) Hand geometry; (e) Voiceprint analysis; (f) Deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA); or (g)
Any other unique biological characteristics of an individual if the characteristics are used by the owner or licensee to
uniquely authenticate the individual's identity when the individual accesses a system or account.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 people

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

* Substitute Notice: Yes, if: if the person or business demonstrates that the cost of providing notice would exceed
two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000), or that the affected class of subject persons to be notified exceeds
500,000, or the person or business does not have sufficient contact information.

* Credit Monitoring: No

NA

Up to $3,000 per transaction: Cal. Civ. Code §
1798.84

NA

Private right of action: Cal. Civ. Code § 1798.84

2019 Update

Amended by H.B. 1943. Added subsection (E).




Title or Description
California Personal
Information Protection Act:
Security procedures and
practices with respect to
personal information about
California residents

Reference

Cal. Civ. Code § 1798.81.5

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"A business that owns, licenses, or maintains personal information about a California resident shall implement and
maintain reasonable security procedures and practices appropriate to the nature of the information, to protect the
personal information from unauthorized access, destruction, use, modification, or disclosure."

Penalty

Up to $3,000 per transaction: Cal. Civ. Code §
1798.84

Enforcement

Private right of action: Cal. Civ. Code § 1798.84

California Unfair, Deceptive, or
Abusive Acts and Practices

Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §
17200

"As used in this chapter, unfair competition shall mean and include any unlawful, unfair or fraudulent business act or
practice and unfair, deceptive, untrue or misleading advertising and any act prohibited by Chapter 1 (commencing
with Section 17500) of Part 3 of Division 7 of the Business and Professions Code."

$2,500 per violation: Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17206

Attorney General: Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §
17206

California Equipment of
Connected devises with
security features;
requirements

Cal. Civ. Code § 1798.91.04

A manufacturer of a connected device (such as an Amazon Alexa or the like) shall equip the device with a reasonable
security feature or features that are all of the following:

(1) Appropriate to the nature and function of the device.

(2) Appropriate to the information it may collect, contain, or transmit.

(3) Designed to protect the device and any information contained therein from unauthorized access, destruction, use,
modification, or disclosure.

(b) Subject to all of the requirements of subdivision (a), if a connected device is equipped with a means for
authentication outside a local area network, it shall be deemed a reasonable security feature under subdivision (a) if
either of the following requirements are met:

(1) The preprogrammed password is unique to each device manufactured.

(2) The device contains a security feature that requires a user to generate a new means of authentication before
access is granted to the device for the first time.

Not stated in statute

Attorney General. Cal. Civ. Code §
1798.91.06(e)

2019 Update

New law (as of Jan. 1, 2019)




Title or Description

California Consumer Privacy
Act of 2018

Reference

A.B. 375 (Adding Civ. Code
§ 1798 et seq.)

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

The California Consumer Privacy Act ("CCPA") will allow consumers to sue companies for unauthorized access and
exfiltration, theft, or disclosure as a result of the business' violation of the duty to implement and maintain
reasonable security procedures and practices appropriate to the nature of the information to protect the personal
information. You do not have to prove that you have been harmed by the data breach.

Penalty

A consumer. Cal. Civ. Code § 1798.150

Enforcement 2019 Update

A civil penalty of up to $7,500 for each
violation;

An amount not less than $100 and not greater
than $750 per consumer per incident or actual
damages.

Cal. Civ. Code §§ 1798.150(a)(1)(A) &
1798.155(b). New Law (Passed on June 28, 2018. Goes into effect
on January 1, 2020)

Definition of Personal
Information

Colorado Breach Notification

Law

Cal. Civ. Code § 1798.140(0)

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-716

(o) (1) “Personal information” means information that identifies, relates to, describes, is capable of being associated
with, or could reasonably be linked, directly or indirectly, with a particular consumer or household. Personal
information includes, but is not limited to, the following:

(A) Identifiers such as a real name, alias, postal address, unique personal identifier, online identifier Internet Protocol
address, email address, account name, social security number, driver’s license number, passport number, or other
similar identifiers.

(B) Any categories of personal information described in subdivision (e) of Section 1798.80.

(C) Characteristics of protected classifications under California or federal law.

(D) Commercial information, including records of personal property, products or services purchased, obtained, or
considered, or other purchasing or consuming histories or tendencies.

(E) Biometric information.

(F) Internet or other electronic network activity information, including, but not limited to, browsing history, search
history, and information regarding a consumer’s interaction with an Internet Web site, application, or advertisement.
(G) Geolocation data.

(H) Audio, electronic, visual, thermal, olfactory, or similar information.

(1) Professional or employment-related information.

(J) Education information, defined as information that is not publicly available personally identifiable information as
defined in the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (20 U.S.C. section 1232g, 34 C.F.R. Part 99).

(K) Inferences drawn from any of the information identified in this subdivision to create a profile about a consumer
reflecting the consumer’s preferences, characteristics, psychological trends, preferences, predispositions, behavior,
attitudes, intelligence, abilities, and aptitudes.

(2) “Personal information” does not include publicly available information. For these purposes, “publicly available”
means information that is lawfully made available from federal, state, or local government records, if any conditions
associated with such information. “Publicly available” does not mean biometric information collected by a business
about a consumer without the consumer’s knowledge. Information is not “publicly available” if that data is used for a
purpose that is not compatible with the purpose for which the data is maintained and made available in the
government records or for which it is publicly maintained. “Publicly available” does not include consumer

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 500 people

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 people

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay, no later than 30 days after occurrence
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if: 250,000 residents or $250,000 or if contact information is insufficient
* Credit Monitoring: No

NA

"The attorney general may bring an action in law or
equity to address violations of this section and for
other relief that may be appropriate to ensure
compliance with this section or to recover direct
economic damages resulting from a violation, or
both. The provisions of this section are not
exclusive and do not relieve an individual or a
commercial entity subject to this section from
compliance with all other applicable provisions of
law." Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-716(4)

NA As added by A.B. 375 (Effective January 1, 2020).

Attorney General: Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-716(4) Amended by H.B. 18-1128 (effective Sept. 1, 2018)




Title or Description

Colorado Unfair, Deceptive, or
Abusive Acts and Practices

Reference

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-105

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"A person engages in a deceptive trade practice when, in the course of the person's business, vocation, or
occupation, the person:"

Penalty

Up to $20,000 per violation: Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-
112

Enforcement

Attorney General: Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-103.

Definition of Personal
Information

Connecticut Breach
Notification Law

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-716(g)

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 36a-701b

(g)(1)(A) “Personal information” means a Colorado resident's first name or first initial and last name in combination
with any one or more of the following data elements that relate to the resident, when the data elements are not
encrypted, redacted, or secured by any other method rendering the name or the element unreadable or unusable:
Social security number; student, military, or passport identification number; driver's license number or identification
card number; medical information; health insurance identification number; or biometric data;

(B) A Colorado resident's username or e-mail address, in combination with a password or security questions and
answers, that would permit access to an online account; or

(C) A Colorado resident's account number or credit or debit card number in combination with any required security
code, access code, or password that would permit access to that account.

(I1) “Personal information” does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the
general public from federal, state, or local government records or widely distributed media.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes [36a-701b(b)(1)]

* Notify Attorney General: Yes [36a-701b(f)]

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes [36a-701b(c)]
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if: 500,000 residents or $250,000
* Credit Monitoring: Yes, 24 months

¢ Other:

NA

Up to $25,000 per violation: Conn. Gen. Stat. §§
36a-701b(g), 42-1100

NA

Attorney General: Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 36a-
701b(g), 42-110b

2019 Update

Amended by H.B. 18-1128

Fixed enforcement provision citation; violation of
36a-701(b) constitutes an "unfair trade practice" for
the purposes of 42-110b

-ATM




Title or Description

Connecticut Personal
Information Protection Act

Reference

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 42-471

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"Any person who collects Social Security numbers in the course of business shall create a privacy protection policy
which shall be published or publicly displayed. For purposes of this subsection, “publicly displayed” includes, but is
not limited to, posting on an Internet web page. Such policy shall: (1) Protect the confidentiality of Social Security

numbers, (2) prohibit unlawful disclosure of Social Security numbers, and (3) limit access to Social Security numbers.

Penalty

Enforcement

Up to $25,000 per violation: Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 42- |Attorney General: Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 42-
"471(h), 36a-701b(g), 42-1100,

471(h), 36a-701b(g), 42-1100,

2019 Update

Connecticut Unfair, Deceptive,
or Abusive Acts and Practices

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 42-110b

"No person shall engage in unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of
any trade or commerce."

Up to $25,000 per violation: Conn. Gen. Stat. § 42-
1100

Attorney General: Conn. Gen. Stat. § 42-1100

Connecticut Insurance Data
Security Law

H.B. 7424 § 230

Requires any insurance licensee to implement an information security program by October 1, 2020. Requirements
include the implementation and maintenance of a written information security program based upon a risk
assessment as well as administrative, technical and physical safeguards to protect non-public information.

Suspending, revoking, or refusing to reissue a
license;

a civil penalty of not more than $50,000 for each

violation of the provisions of this section

Insurance Commissioner

Becomes Effective October 1, 2019




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

Delaware Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 36a-
701b(a)(2)

Del. Code tit. 6, § 12B-102

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

(2) “personal information” means an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one,
or more, of the following data: (A) Social Security number; (B) driver's license number or state identification card
number; (C) credit or debit card number; or (D) financial account number in combination with any required security
code, access code or password that would permit access to such financial account. “Personal information” does not
include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal, state or local
government records or widely distributed media.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 500 residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay, but no more than 60 days
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 100,000 residents or $75,000

* Credit Monitoring: Yes, if SSN breached, 12 months

 Other:

Penalty

NA

"an action in law or equity to address the violations
of this chapter and for other relief that may be
appropriate to ensure proper compliance with this
chapter or to recover direct economic damages
resulting from a violation, or both." 6 Del. C. § 12B-
104

Enforcement

NA

Director of Consumer Protection of the
Department of Justice: 6 Del. C. § 12B-104

Delaware Personal Information
Protection Act

Del. Code tit. 6, § 12B-100

"Any person who conducts business in this State and owns, licenses, or maintains personal information shall
implement and maintain reasonable procedures and practices to prevent the unauthorized acquisition, use,
modification, disclosure, or destruction of personal information collected or maintained in the regular course of
business."

"an action in law or equity to address the violations
of this chapter and for other relief that may be
appropriate to ensure proper compliance with this
chapter or to recover direct economic damages
resulting from a violation, or both." 6 Del. C. § 12B-
104

Director of Consumer Protection of the
Department of Justice: 6 Del. C. § 12B-104

Delaware Unfair, Deceptive, or
Abusive Acts and Practices

Del. Code tit. 6, § 2532

"A person engages in a deceptive trade practice when, in the course of a business, vocation, or occupation, that
person:..."

Up to $10,000 per willful violation: Del. Code tit. 6,
§2533

Attorney General: Del. Code tit. 6, § 2533

Delaware Insurance Data
Security Act

H.B. 174 (Adding Del. Code
tit. 18, § 4601 et seq.)

Requires insurance licensees to implement information security programs, report instances of data breaches in a
timely manner to the Insurance Commissioner and to effected consumers, and allows the Department of Insurance

to investigate violations and levy penalties against a violating insurer.

No more than $15,000 per violation for individuals
and $50,000 per violation for insurance

companies. Del. Code Tit. 18, § 329

Insurance Commissioner

2019 Update

Effective July 1, 2019




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

Florida Breach Notification Law

Reference

Del. Code tit. 6, § 12B-
101(7)

Fla. Stat. § 501.171(4)(a)

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

(7) a. “Personal information” means a Delaware resident's first name or first initial and last name in combination with
any 1 or more of the following data elements that relate to that individual:

1. Social Security number.

2. Driver's license number or state or federal identification card number.

3. Account number, credit card number, or debit card number, in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to a resident's financial account.

4. Passport number.

5. A username or email address, in combination with a password or security question and answer that would permit
access to an online account.

6. Medical history, medical treatment by a healthcare professional, diagnosis of mental or physical condition by a
healthcare professional, or deoxyribonucleic acid profile.

7. Health insurance policy number, subscriber identification number, or any other unique identifier used by a health
insurer to identify the person.

8. Unique biometric data generated from measurements or analysis of human body characteristics for authentication
purposes.

9. An individual taxpayer identification number.

b. “Personal information” does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the
general public from federal, state, or local government records or widely-distributed media.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Department of Legal Affairs: Yes, if over 500

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 people

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if: over 500,000 residents or $250,000
 Credit Monitoring:

 Other:

Penalty

NA

Up to $500,000 and more penalties: Fla. Stat. §
501.171(9)

Enforcement

NA

Department of Legal Affairs: Fla. Stat. §
501.171(9)

Florida Personal Information
Protection Act

Fla. Stat. § 501.171(2)

"Each covered entity, governmental entity, or third-party agent shall take reasonable measures to protect and secure
data in electronic form containing personal information."

Up to $500,000 and more penalties: Fla. Stat. §
501.171(9)

Department of Legal Affairs: Fla. Stat. §
501.171(9)

Florida Unfair, Deceptive, or
Abusive Acts and Practices

Fla. Stat. § 501.204

"Unfair methods of competition, unconscionable acts or practices, and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the
conduct of any trade or commerce are hereby declared unlawful"

Up to $10,000 per violation: Fla. Stat. § 501.2075

Department of Legal Affairs: Fla. Stat. §
501.2075

2019 Update




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

Georgia Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Fla. Stat. § 501.171(1)(g)

Ga. Code §10-1-912

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

1. “Personal information” means either of the following:

a. An individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following data
elements for that individual:

(1) A social security number;

(1) A driver license or identification card number, passport number, military identification number, or other similar
number issued on a government document used to verify identity;

(1) A financial account number or credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password that is necessary to permit access to an individual's financial account;

(IV) Any information regarding an individual's medical history, mental or physical condition, or medical treatment or
diagnosis by a health care professional; or

(V) An individual's health insurance policy number or subscriber identification number and any unique identifier used
by a health insurer to identify the individual.

b. A user name or e-mail address, in combination with a password or security question and answer that would permit
access to an online account.

2. The term does not include information about an individual that has been made publicly available by a federal,
state, or local governmental entity. The term also does not include information that is encrypted, secured, or
modified by any other method or technology that removes elements that personally identify an individual or that
otherwise renders the information unusable.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 10,000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes, within 24 hours

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if: over 100,000 residents or $50,000
 Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

NA

None

Enforcement

NA

None

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Ga. Code § 10-1-393

"Unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of consumer transactions and consumer acts or practices in
trade or commerce are declared unlawful."

Up to $5,000 per violation: Ga. Code § 10-1-
397(a)(2)(B)

Attorney General: Ga. Code § 10-1-397

2019 Update




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

Hawaii Breach Notification Law

Reference

Ga. Code § 10-1-911

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 487N-2

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

“Personal information” means an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or
more of the following data elements, when either the name or the data elements are not encrypted or redacted:

(A) Social security number;

(B) Driver's license number or state identification card number;

(C) Account number, credit card number, or debit card number, if circumstances exist wherein such a number could
be used without additional identifying information, access codes, or passwords;

(D) Account passwords or personal identification numbers or other access codes; or

(E) Any of the items contained in subparagraphs (A) through (D) of this paragraph when not in connection with the
individual's first name or first initial and last name, if the information compromised would be sufficient to perform or
attempt to perform identity theft against the person whose information was compromised.

The term “personal information” does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the
general public from federal, state, or local government records.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 1000 residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 200,000 residents or $100,000
* Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

N/A

Up to $2,500 per violation: Haw. Rev. Stat. § 487N-
3

Enforcement

N/A

Attorney General: Haw. Rev. Stat. § 487N-3

Hawaii Unfair, Deceptive, or
Abusive Acts and Practices

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 480-2

"Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce
are unlawful."

Up to $10,000 per violation (No less than $500):
Haw. Rev. Stat. § 480-3.1

Attorney General or Director of the Office of
Consumer Protections: :Haw. Rev. Stat. § 480-
3.1

Definition of Personal
Information

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 487N-1

“Personal information” means an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or
more of the following data elements, when either the name or the data elements are not encrypted:

(1) Social security number;

(2) Driver's license number or Hawaii identification card number; or

(3) Account number, credit or debit card number, access code, or password that would permit access to an
individual's financial account.

“Personal information” does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general
public from federal, state, or local government records.

NA

NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

Idaho Breach Notification Law

Reference

Idaho Code § 28-51-105

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: Yes, within 24 hours of breach .
Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 50,000 residents or $25,000
® Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

Up to $25,000 per breach: Idaho Code § 28-51-107

Enforcement

Attorney General: Idaho Code § 28-51-107

Idaho Unfair, Deceptive, or
Abusive Acts and Practices

Idaho Code § 48-603

"The following unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or
commerce are hereby declared to be unlawful, where a person knows, or in the exercise of due care should know,
that he has in the past, oris:"

Up to $5,000 per violation: Idaho Code § 48-
606(1)(e)

Attorney General: Idaho Code § 48-606

Definition of Personal
Information

Illinois Breach Notification Law

Idaho Code § 28-51-104(5)

815 Ill. Comp. Stat. &
530/10

“Personal information” means an Idaho resident's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any
one (1) or more of the following data elements that relate to the resident, when either the name or the data
elements are not encrypted:

(a) Social security number;

(b) Driver's license number or Idaho identification card number; or

(c) Account number, or credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password that would permit access to a resident's financial account.

The term “personal information” does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the
general public from federal, state, or local government records or widely distributed media.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 residents or $250,000
 Credit Monitoring: No

NA

Up to $50,000: 815 ILCS §§ 530/20; 505/7

NA

Attorney General: 815 ILCS §§ 530/20; 505/7

Personal Information
Protection Act

815 Ill. Comp. Stat. §
530/45

"A data collector that owns or licenses, or maintains or stores but does not own or license, records that contain
personal information concerning an Illinois resident shall implement and maintain reasonable security measures to
protect those records from unauthorized access, acquisition, destruction, use, modification, or disclosure."

Up to $50,000: 815 ILCS §§ 530/20; 505/7

Attorney General: 815 ILCS §§ 530/20; 505/7

2019 Update




Title or Description

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Reference

815 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 505/2

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices, including but not limited to the use or
employment of any deception, fraud, false pretense, false promise, misrepresentation or the concealment,
suppression or omission of any material fact, with intent that others rely upon the concealment, suppression or
omission of such material fact, or the use or employment of any practice described in Section 2 of the “Uniform
Deceptive Trade Practices Act”, approved August 5, 1965,1 in the conduct of any trade or commerce are hereby
declared unlawful whether any person has in fact been misled, deceived or damaged thereby. In construing this
section consideration shall be given to the interpretations of the Federal Trade Commission and the federal courts
relating to Section 5(a) of the Federal Trade Commission Act.2"

Penalty

Up to $50,000: 815 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 505/7

Enforcement

Attorney General: 815 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 505/7

Definition of Personal
Information

lowa Breach Notification Law

815 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 530/5

lowa Code § 715C.2

“Personal information” means either of the following:

(1) an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following data
elements, when either the name or the data elements are not encrypted or redacted or are encrypted or redacted
but the keys to unencrypt or unredact or otherwise read the name or data elements have been acquired without
authorization through the breach of security:

(A) Social Security number.

(B) Driver's license number or State identification card number.

(C) Account number or credit or debit card number, or an account number or credit card number in combination with
any required security code, access code, or password that would permit access to an individual's financial account.
(D) Medical information.

(E) Health insurance information.

(F) Unique biometric data generated from measurements or technical analysis of human body characteristics used by
the owner or licensee to authenticate an individual, such as a fingerprint, retina or iris image, or other unique
physical representation or digital representation of biometric data.

(2) user name or email address, in combination with a password or security question and answer that would permit
access to an online account, when either the user name or email address or password or security question and
answer are not encrypted or redacted or are encrypted or redacted but the keys to unencrypt or unredact or
otherwise read the data elements have been obtained through the breach of security.

“Personal information” does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general
public from federal, State, or local government records.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 500 residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 350,000 residents or $250,000
* Credit Monitoring: No

NA

Up to $40,000 per violation: lowa Code §§
715C.2(9), 714.16(7)

NA

Attorney General: lowa Code §§ 715C.2(9),
714.16(7)

2019 Update




Title or Description

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Reference

lowa Code § 714.16

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
"The act, use or employment by a person of an unfair practice, deception, fraud, false pretense, false promise, or
misrepresentation, or the concealment, suppression, or omission of a material fact with intent that others rely upon
the concealment, suppression, or omission, in connection with the lease, sale, or advertisement of any merchandise
or the solicitation of contributions for charitable purposes, whether or not a person has in fact been misled,
deceived, or damaged, is an unlawful practice."

Penalty

Up to $40,000 per violation: lowa Code § 714.16(7)

Enforcement

Attorney General: lowa Code § 714.16(7)

Definition of Personal
Information

Kansas Breach Notification Law

lowa Code § 715C.1

Kan. Stat. § 50-7a02

11. a. “Personal information” means an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any
one or more of the following data elements that relate to the individual if any of the data elements are not
encrypted, redacted, or otherwise altered by any method or technology in such a manner that the name or data
elements are unreadable or are encrypted, redacted, or otherwise altered by any method or technology but the keys
to unencrypt, unredact, or otherwise read the data elements have been obtained through the breach of security:

(1) Social security number.

(2) Driver's license number or other unique identification number created or collected by a government body.

(3) Financial account number, credit card number, or debit card number in combination with any required expiration
date, security code, access code, or password that would permit access to an individual's financial account.

(4) Unique electronic identifier or routing code, in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password that would permit access to an individual's financial account.

(5) Unique biometric data, such as a fingerprint, retina or iris image, or other unique physical representation or digital
representation of biometric data.

b. “Personal information” does not include information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available sources, or
from federal, state, or local government records lawfully made available to the general public.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 5,000 residents or $100,000

* Credit Monitoring: No

NA

"...anaction in law or equity to address violations
of this section and for other relief that may be
appropriate": Kan. Stat. § 50-7a02(g)

NA

Attorney General: Kan. Stat. § 50-7a02(g)

Personal Information
Protection Act

Kan. Stat. § 50-6,139b(b)(1)

" A holder of personal information shall:

(1) Implement and maintain reasonable procedures and practices appropriate to the nature of the information, and
exercise reasonable care to protect the personal information from unauthorized access, use, modification or
disclosure. If federal or state law or regulation governs the procedures and practices of the holder of personal
information for such protection of personal information, then compliance with such federal or state law or regulation
shall be deemed compliance with this paragraph and failure to comply with such federal or state law or regulation
shall be prima facie evidence of a violation of this paragraph; ..."

Up to $10,000 per violation or $20,000 per willful
violation: Kan. Stat. §§ 50-6139b(d, e), 50-636

Attorney General: Kan. Stat. §§ 50-636, 50-
6139b(e)

2019 Update




Title or Description

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Reference

Kan. Stat. § 50-627

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"No supplier shall engage in any deceptive act or practice in connection with a consumer transaction."

Penalty

Up to $10,000 per violation or $20,000 per willful
violation: Kan. Stat. § 50-636

Enforcement

Attorney General: Kan. Stat. §§ 50-636, 50-
6139b(e)

Definition of Personal
Information

Kentucky Breach Notification
Law

Kan. Stat. § 50-7a01(g)

Ky. Rev. Stat. § 365.732

“Personal information” means a consumer's first name or first initial and last name linked to any one or more of the
following data elements that relate to the consumer, when the data elements are neither encrypted nor redacted:
(1) Social security number;

(2) driver's license number or state identification card number; or

(3) financial account number, or credit or debit card number, alone or in combination with any required security
code, access code or password that would permit access to a consumer's financial account. The term “personal
information” does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general public
from federal, state or local government records.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 people
* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if: 500,000 residents or $250,000
* Credit Monitoring: No

NA

None

NA

Private Right of Action: Ky. Rev. Stat. § 365.730

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Ky. Rev. Stat. § 367.170

"Unfair, false, misleading, or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce are hereby declared
unlawful."

Up to $2,000 per violation or up to $10,000 per

violation for conduct directed at a person age 60 or

older: Ky. Rev. Stat. § 367.990(2)

Attorney General: Ky. Rev. Stat. § 367.990(2)

Definition of Personally
Identifiable Information

Ky. Rev. Stat. § 365.732(c)

“Personally identifiable information” means an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination
with any one (1) or more of the following data elements, when the name or data element is not redacted:

1. Social Security number;

2. Driver's license number; or

3. Account number or credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password to permit access to an individual's financial account.

NA

NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

Louisiana Breach Notification
Law

Reference

La. Rev. Stat. § 51:3074

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: No
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
¢ How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay but no later than 60 days
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 100,000 residents or $100,000
® Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

", .. afine not to exceed $5,000 per violation.
Notice to the attorney general shall be timely if
received within 10 days of distribution of notice to
Louisiana citizens. Each day notice is not received
by the attorney general shall be deemed a separate
violation." 16 La. Admin. Code Pt lll, 701

Enforcement

Attorney General: 16 La. Admin. Code Pt
1, 701

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

La. Stat. § 51:1405

"Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce
are hereby declared unlawful."

Up to $5,000 per violation: La. Rev. Stat. §
51:1407(B)

Attorney General: La. Rev. Stat. § 51:1407(A)

Definition of Personal
Information

La. Stat. § 51:3073(4)

(a) “Personal information” means the first name or first initial and last name of an individual resident of this state in
combination with any one or more of the following data elements, when the name or the data element is not
encrypted or redacted:

(i) Social security number.

(i) Driver's license number or state identification card number.

(iii) Account number, credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password that would permit access to an individual's financial account.

(iv) Passport number.

(v) Biometric data. “Biometric data” means data generated by automatic measurements of an individual's biological
characteristics, such as fingerprints, voice print, eye retina or iris, or other unique biological characteristic that is used
by the owner or licensee to uniquely authenticate an individual's identity when the individual accesses a system or
account.

(b) “Personal information” shall not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the
general public from federal, state, or local government records.

NA

NA

2019 Update

Added "no later than 60 days."

Changed "substitute notice" section from 50,000
people to 100,000 and $250,000 to $100,000. See
La. Rev. Stat. § 51:3074G(3).




Title or Description

Maine Breach Notification Law

Reference

10M.R.S.A. §§ 1347-A,
1348

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes, if not regulated by the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation

* Notify Attorney General: Yes

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 1,000 people or $5,000

® Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

"[M]maximum of $2,500 for each day the person is
in violation:" 10 M.R.S.A. § 1349

Enforcement

Attorney General: 10 M.R.S.A. § 1349
Appropriate state regulators within the
Department of Professional and Financial
Regulation: 10 M.R.S.A. § 1349

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

5 M.R.S.A. § 207

"Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce

are declared unlawful."

$5,000 penalty for non-compliance with § 211: 5

M.R.S.A. § 212

Attorney General: 5 M.R.S.A. § 212

2019 Update

Added sentences including Department of
Professional and Financial Regulation

Added § 1347 (substitute notice citation)




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

Maryland Breach Notification
Law

Reference

10 M.R.S.A. § 1347(6)

Md. Code, Com. Law § 14-
3504

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

“Personal information” means an individual's first name, or first initial, and last name in combination with any one or
more of the following data elements, when either the name or the data elements are not encrypted or redacted:

A. Social security number;

B. Driver's license number or state identification card number;

C. Account number, credit card number or debit card number, if circumstances exist wherein such a number could be
used without additional identifying information, access codes or passwords;

D. Account passwords or personal identification numbers or other access codes; or

E. Any of the data elements contained in paragraphs A to D when not in connection with the individual's first name,
or first initial, and last name, if the information if compromised would be sufficient to permit a person to fraudulently
assume or attempt to assume the identity of the person whose information was compromised.

“Personal information” does not include information from 3rd-party claims databases maintained by property and
casualty insurers or publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal,
state or local government records or widely distributed media.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, over 1000

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: As soon as reasonably practicable, but not later than 45 days after discovery of breach
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 175,000 residents or $100,000

* Credit Monitoring: No

* Other: Third party may not charge data owner a fee for providing information that the owner needs to make a
notification.

Penalty

NA

up to $10,000 per violation: Md. Code, Com. Law
§§ 14-3508, 13-410

up to $1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding one
year: MD Code, Comm. Law, § 13-411

Enforcement 2019 Update

NA

Added Information for "Other" pursuant to
Division of Consumer Protection: Md. Code Maryland HB 1154 (2019)

Comm. Law §§ 13-401, 13-101

Personal Information
Protection Act

Md. Code, Com. Law § 14-
3503

"To protect personal information from unauthorized access, use, modification, or disclosure, a business that owns or
licenses personal information of an individual residing in the State shall implement and maintain reasonable security
procedures and practices that are appropriate to the nature of the personal information owned or licensed and the
nature and size of the business and its operations."

$1,000 per violation: Md. Code, Com. Law §§ 14-
3508, 13-410

up to $1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding one
year: MD Code, Comm. Law, § 13-411

Division of Consumer Protection: Md. Code
Comm. Law §§ 13-401, 13-101

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Md. Code, Com. Law §13-
303

"A person may not engage in any unfair or deceptive trade practice, as defined in this subtitle or as further defined by
the Division, in:. . ."

$1,000 per violation: Md. Code, Com. Law §§ 14-
3508, 13-410

up to $1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding one
year: MD Code, Comm. Law, § 13-411

Division of Consumer Protection: Md. Code
Comm. Law §§ 13-401, 13-101




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

Massachusetts Breach
Notification Law

Reference

Md. Code, Com. Law § 14-
3501(e)

Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 93H §
1,3,3A

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

(1) “Personal information” means:

(i) An individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following data
elements, when the name or the data elements are not encrypted, redacted, or otherwise protected by another
method that renders the information unreadable or unusable:

1. A Social Security number, an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, a passport number, or other identification
number issued by the federal government;

2. A driver's license number or State identification card number;

3. An account number, a credit card number, or a debit card number, in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password, that permits access to an individual's financial account;

4. Health information, including information about an individual's mental health;

5. A health insurance policy or certificate number or health insurance subscriber identification number, in
combination with a unique identifier used by an insurer or an employer that is self-insured, that permits access to an
individual's health information; or

6. Biometric data of an individual generated by automatic measurements of an individual's biological characteristics
such as a fingerprint, voice print, genetic print, retina or iris image, or other unique biological characteristic, that can
be used to uniquely authenticate the individual's identity when the individual accesses a system or account; or

(ii) A user name or e-mail address in combination with a password or security question and answer that permits
access to an individual's e-mail account.

(2) “Personal information” does not include:

(i) Publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal, State, or local
government records;

(i) Information that an individual has consented to have publicly disseminated or listed; or

(iii) Information that is disseminated or listed in accordance with the federal Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,00 residents or $250,000
 Credit Monitoring: 18 months

Penalty

NA

Up to $5,000 per violation: Mass. Gen. Laws Ch.

93A 84

Enforcement

NA

Attorney General: Mass. Gen. Laws § 93A § 4

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive

Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 93A §

"Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce

Up to $5,000 per violation: Mass. Gen. Laws Ch.

Acts and Practices 2 are hereby declared unlawful." 93A%§4 Attorney General: Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 93A § 4
“Personal information” a resident's first name and last name or first initial and last name in combination with any 1
or more of the following data elements that relate to such resident:
(a) Social Security number;
(b) driver's license number or state-issued identification card number; or
(c) financial account number, or credit or debit card number, with or without any required security code, access code,
personal identification number or password, that would permit access to a resident's financial account; provided,
Definition of Personal Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 93H § |however, that “Personal information” shall not include information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available
Information 1 information, or from federal, state or local government records lawfully made available to the general public. NA NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

Michigan Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Mich. Comp. Laws § 445.72

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: No
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 residents or $250,000
® Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

$250 per notice failure, or up to $750,000 per
breach: Mich. Comp. Laws § 445.72(13)

Enforcement

Attorney General: Mich. Comp. Laws §
445.72(13)

Unfair, unconscionable, or
deceptive methods, acts, or
practices; promulgation of
rules

Mich. Comp. Laws §
445.903

"Unfair, unconscionable, or deceptive methods, acts, or practices in the conduct of trade or commerce are unlawful
and are defined as follows:. . ."

Up to $25,000: Mich. Comp. Laws § 445.905

Attorney General: Mich. Comp. Laws §
445.905

Definition of Personal
Information

Mich. Comp. Laws §
445.63(r)

“Personal information” means the first name or first initial and last name linked to 1 or more of the following data
elements of a resident of this state:

(i) Social security number.

(ii) Driver license number or state personal identification card number.

(iii) Demand deposit or other financial account number, or credit card or debit card number, in combination with any
required security code, access code, or password that would permit access to any of the resident's financial accounts.

NA

Definition of Personal
Identifying Information

Mich. Comp. Laws §
445.63(q)

“Personal identifying information” means a name, number, or other information that is used for the purpose of
identifying a specific person or providing access to a person's financial accounts, including, but not limited to, a
person's name, address, telephone number, driver license or state personal identification card number, social
security number, place of employment, employee identification number, employer or taxpayer identification
number, government passport number, health insurance identification number, mother's maiden name, demand
deposit account number, savings account number, financial transaction device account number or the person's
account password, any other account password in combination with sufficient information to identify and access the
account, automated or electronic signature, biometrics, stock or other security certificate or account number, credit
card number, vital record, or medical records or information.

NA

NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

Minnesota Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Minn. Stat. § 325E.61,

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: Yes
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 500 residents. Notification in 48 hours.
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 residents or $250,000
® Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

Unclear: Minn. Stat. §§ 325E.61(6), 8.31

Enforcement

Attorney General: Minn. Stat. §§ 325E.61(6),
8.31

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Minn. Stat. § 325F.69

Fraud, misrepresentation, deceptive practices. The act, use, or employment by any person of any fraud, false
pretense, false promise, misrepresentation, misleading statement or deceptive practice, with the intent that others
rely thereon in connection with the sale of any merchandise, whether or not any person has in fact been misled,
deceived, or damaged thereby, is enjoinable as provided in section 325F.70.

Up to $25,000 (Does not specify per violation or all
violations). Additional private remedies allowed
including costs and disbursements, including costs
of investigation and reasonable attorney's fees,
and other equitable relief.

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 8.31

Attorney General: Minn. Stat. § 8.31

Definition of Personal
Information

Minn. Stat. § 325E.61(e)-(f)

For purposes of this section and section 13.055, subdivision 6, “personal information” means an individual's first
name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following data elements, when the
data element is not secured by encryption or another method of technology that makes electronic data unreadable
or unusable, or was secured and the encryption key, password, or other means necessary for reading or using the
data was also acquired:

(1) Social Security number;

(2) driver's license number or Minnesota identification card number; or

(3) account number or credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password that would permit access to an individual's financial account.

For purposes of this section and section 13.055, subdivision 6, “personal information” does not include publicly
available information that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal, state, or local government
records.

NA

NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

Mississippi Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Miss. Code § 75-24-29

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: Yes
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 5,000 residents or $5,000
 Credit Monitoring:
¢ Other:

Penalty

$10,000 per violation: Miss. Code § 75-24-
19

Enforcement

Attorney General: Miss. Code § 75-24-29(8)

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Miss. Code § 75-24-
5

Unfair methods of competition affecting commerce and unfair or deceptive trade practices in or affecting commerce
are prohibited. Action may be brought under Section 75-24-5(1) only under the provisions of Section 75-24-9.

$10,000 per violation: Miss. Code § 75-24-
19

Attorney General: Miss. Code § 75-24-9

Definition of Personal
Information

Miss. Code § 75-24-

29(2)(b)

“Personal information” means an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or
more of the following data elements:

(i) Social security number;

(i) Driver's license number or state identification card number; or

(iii) An account number or credit or debit card number in combination with any required security code, access code
or password that would permit access to an individual's financial account; “personal information” does not include
publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal, state or local
government records or widely distributed media;

(iv) “Affected individual” means any individual who is a resident of this state whose personal information was, or is

reasonably believed to have been, intentionally acquired by an unauthorized person through a breach of security.

NA

NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

Missouri Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 407.1500

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws
Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 1000 residents
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 150,000 residents or $100,000
 Credit Monitoring:
¢ Other:

Penalty

Up to $150,000: Mo. Rev. Stat. § 407.1500(3)

Enforcement

2019 Update

Corrected substitute notice amount to $100,000, it

Attorney General: Mo. Rev. Stat. § 407.1500(3) was $150,000.

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 407.020

Any act, use or employment by any person of any deception, fraud, false pretense, false promise, misrepresentation,
unfair practice or the concealment, suppression, or omission of any material fact in connection with the sale or
advertisement of any merchandise in trade or commerce or the solicitation of any funds for any charitable purpose,
as defined in section 407.453, in or from the state of Missouri, is declared to be an unlawful practice.

Up to $1000 per violation: Mo. Rev. Stat. §
407.100(6)

Attorney General: Mo. Rev. Stat. § 407.100

Definition of Personal
Information

Mo. Rev. Stat. §
407.1500(1)(9)

“Personal information”, an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more
of the following data elements that relate to the individual if any of the data elements are not encrypted, redacted, or
otherwise altered by any method or technology in such a manner that the name or data elements are unreadable or
unusable:

(a) Social Security number;

(b) Driver's license number or other unique identification number created or collected by a government body;

(c) Financial account number, credit card number, or debit card number in combination with any required security
code, access code, or password that would permit access to an individual's financial account;

(d) Unique electronic identifier or routing code, in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password that would permit access to an individual's financial account;

(e) Medical information; or

(f) Health insurance information.

“Personal information” does not include information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available sources, or
from federal, state, or local government records lawfully made available to the general public;

NA

NA




Title or Description

Montana Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Mont. Code § 30-14-1704

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: Yes
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, coordination provision
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 residents or $250,000
 Credit Monitoring:
¢ Other:

Penalty

Up to $10,000 per willful violation: MCA §§ 30-14-
1705; 30-14-142(2)

Enforcement

Department of Justice (Attorney General):
MCA § 30-14-1705

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Mont. Code § 30-14-103

Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce are
unlawful.

Up to $10,000 per willful violation: MCA § 30-14-
142(2)

Department of Justice (Attorney General):
MCA § 30-14-1705

Definition of Personal
Information

Nebraska Breach Notification
Law

Mont. Code § 30-14-
1702(7)

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 87-802,
87-803

“Personal information” means an individual's name, signature, address, or telephone number, in combination with
one or more additional pieces of information about the individual, consisting of the individual's passport number,
driver's license or state identification number, insurance policy number, bank account number, credit card number,
debit card number, passwords or personal identification numbers required to obtain access to the individual's
finances, or any other financial information as provided by rule. A social security number, in and of itself, constitutes
personal information.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 100,000 residents or $75,000
 Credit Monitoring: No

NA

Direct economic damage: Neb. Rev. Stat. § 87-806

NA

Attorney General: Neb. Rev. Stat. § 87-806

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 59-1602

"Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce
shall be unlawful."

Up to $2,000 per violation: Neb. Rev. Stat. § 59-
1614

Attorney General: Neb. Rev. Stat. § 59-1614

2019 Update




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

Nevada Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 87-802(5)

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 603A.220

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws
Synopsis

Personal information means either of the following:
(a) A Nebraska resident's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the
following data elements that relate to the resident if either the name or the data elements are not encrypted,
redacted, or otherwise altered by any method or technology in such a manner that the name or data elements are
unreadable:
(i) Social security number;
(ii) Motor vehicle operator's license number or state identification card number;
(iii) Account number or credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password that would permit access to a resident's financial account;
(iv) Unique electronic identification number or routing code, in combination with any required security code, access
code, or password; or
(v) Unique biometric data, such as a fingerprint, voice print, or retina or iris image, or other unique physical
representation; or
(b) A user name or email address, in combination with a password or security question and answer, that would
permit access to an online account.

Personal information does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general
public from federal, state, or local government records

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 residents or $250,000
* Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

NA

Injunction: Nev. Rev. Stat. § 603A.290

Enforcement

NA

Attorney General: Nev. Rev. Stat. § 603A.290

Personal Information
Protection Act

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 603A.210

"A data collector that maintains records which contain personal information of a resident of this State shall
implement and maintain reasonable security measures to protect those records from unauthorized access,

acquisition, destruction, use, modification or disclosure."

Injunction: Nev. Rev. Stat. § 603A.290

Attorney General: Nev. Rev. Stat. § 603A.290

2019 Update




Title or Description

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Reference

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 598A.060

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"Every activity enumerated in this subsection constitutes a contract, combination or conspiracy in constraint of trade,
and it is unlawful to conduct any part of any such activity in this State . . ."

Penalty

An amount not to exceed 5% of the gross income
realized by the sale or commodities or services sold
in each year: N.R.S. § 598A.170

Enforcement

Attorney General: N.R.S. § 598A.070

Definition of Personal
Information

New Hampshire Breach
Notification Law

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 603A.040

N.H. Rev. Stat. § 359-C:20

1. “Personal information” means a natural person's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any
one or more of the following data elements, when the name and data elements are not encrypted:

(a) Social security number.

(b) Driver's license number, driver authorization card number or identification card number.

(c) Account number, credit card number or debit card number, in combination with any required security code,
access code or password that would permit access to the person's financial account.

(d) A medical identification number or a health insurance identification number.

(e) A user name, unique identifier or electronic mail address in combination with a password, access code or security
question and answer that would permit access to an online account.

2. The term does not include the last four digits of a social security number, the last four digits of a driver's license
number, the last four digits of a driver authorization card number or the last four digits of an identification card
number or publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal, state or
local governmental records.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if subject to N.H. Rev. Stat. § 358-A:3(l)
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

¢ How many days to Notify: As soon as possible

* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 1,000 residents or $5,000

* Credit Monitoring: No

NA

Actual damages; if willful or knowing--as much as
3x but not less than 2x actual damages: N.H. Rev.
Stat. §§ 359-C:21

NA

Attorney General: N.H. Rev. Stat. §§ 359-C:21;
358-A:4

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

N.H. Rev. Stat. § 358-A:2

"It shall be unlawful for any person to use any unfair method of competition or any unfair or deceptive act or practice
in the conduct of any trade or commerce within this state. Such unfair method of competition or unfair or deceptive
act or practice shall include, but is not limited to, the following:"

Up to $10,000 per violation: N.H. Rev. Stat. § 358-
A:4(Il1)(b)

Consumer Protection and Antitrust Bureau,
Department of Justice: N.H. Rev. Stat. § 358-
A4(l)

Definition of Personal
Information

N.H. Rev. Stat. § 359-
C:19(1V)

(a) “Personal information” means an individual's first name or initial and last name in combination with any one or
more of the following data elements, when either the name or the data elements are not encrypted:

(1) Social security number.

(2) Driver's license number or other government identification number.

(3) Account number, credit card number, or debit card number, in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to an individual's financial account.

(b) “Personal information” shall not include information that is lawfully made available to the general public from
federal, state, or local government records.

NA

NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

New Jersey Breach Notification
Law

Reference

N.J. Stat. § 56:8-163

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws
Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: No
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 residents or $250,000
® Credit Monitoring: No
* Other: Report to the Division of State Police in the Department of Law and Public Safety, prior to notification to
residents

Penalty

Up to $10,000 for the first offense, and $20,000 for
subsequent offenses: N.J. Stat. § 56:8-13

Enforcement

Attorney General: N.J. Stat. § 56:8-3.1

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

N.J. Stat. § 56:8-2

"The act, use or employment by any person of any unconscionable commercial practice, deception, fraud, false
pretense, false promise, misrepresentation, or the knowing, concealment, suppression, or omission of any material
fact with intent that others rely upon such concealment, suppression or omission, in connection with the sale or
advertisement of any merchandise or real estate, or with the subsequent performance of such person as aforesaid,
whether or not any person has in fact been misled, deceived or damaged thereby, is declared to be an unlawful
practice; provided, however, that nothing herein contained shall apply to the owner or publisher of newspapers,
magazines, publications or printed matter wherein such advertisement appears, or to the owner or operator of a
radio or television station which disseminates such advertisement when the owner, publisher, or operator has no
knowledge of the intent, design or purpose of the advertiser."

Up to $10,000 for the first offense, and $20,000 for
subsequent offenses: N.J. Stat. § 56:8-13

Attorney General: N.J. Stat. § 56:8-3.1

Definition of Personal
Information

N.J. Stat. § 56:8-161

“Personal information” means an individual's first name or first initial and last name linked with any one or more of
the following data elements: (1) Social Security number; (2) driver's license number or State identification card
number; or (3) account number or credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to an individual's financial account. Dissociated data that, if
linked, would constitute personal information is personal information if the means to link the dissociated data were
accessed in connection with access to the dissociated data.

For the purposes of sections 10 through 15 of this amendatory and supplementary act (referring to N.J. Stat. §§ 56:8-
161 to 166), personal information shall not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to
the general public from federal, state or local government records, or widely distributed media.

NA

NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

New Mexico Breach
Notification Law

Reference

N.M. Stat. § 57-12¢-6; N.M.
Stat. § 57-12¢-10

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 1000 residents or if the cost of providing notification would exceed $100,000,
if the number of residents to be notifies exceeds 50,000, the person does not have on record physical address or
sufficient contact information for the residents that the person or business is required to notify.
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: No later than 45 days after the breach discovery date
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 50,000 residents or $100,000, or if the person does not have on record a physical
address or sufficient contact information for the residents that the person or business is required to notify.
* Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

The Court may issue an injunction and award
damages for actual costs or losses, including
consequential financial losses.

Civil Penalty: the great of $25,000 or, $10 per
instance of failed notification up to a maximum of
$150,000: N.M. Stat. §57-12¢-11

Enforcement

Attorney General: N.M. Stat. § 57-12¢-11

Personal Information
Protection Act

N.M. Stat. §57-12c-4

"A person that owns or licenses personal identifying information of a New Mexico resident shall implement and
maintain reasonable security procedures and practices appropriate to the nature of the information to protect the
personal identifying information from unauthorized access, destruction, use, modification or disclosure."

The Court may issue an injunction and award
damages for actual costs or losses, including
consequential financial losses.

Civil Penalty: the great of $25,000 or, $10 per
instance of failed notification up to a maximum of
$150,000: N.M. Stat. § 57-12c-11

Attorney General: N.M. Stat. § 57-12¢-11

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

N.M. Stat. §57-12-3

"Unfair or deceptive trade practices and unconscionable trade practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce are
unlawful."

Up to $5,000 per violation: N.M. Stat. §57-12-11

Attorney General: N.M. Stat. § 57-12-8

Definition of Personal
Identifying Information

New York Breach Notification
Law

N.M. Stat. § 57-12¢-2(C)

N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 899-
AA; N.Y. State Tech. Law §
208

“personal identifying information”:

(1) means an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with one or more of the following
data elements that relate to the individual, when the data elements are not protected through encryption or
redaction or otherwise rendered unreadable or unusable:

(a) social security number;

(b) driver's license number;

(c) government-issued identification number;

(d) account number, credit card number or debit card number in combination with any required security code, access
code or password that would permit access to a person's financial account; or

(e) biometric data; and

(2) does not mean information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available sources or from federal, state or local
government records lawfully made available to the general public

* Notify Affected Residents: Potentially: "Notice to affected persons under this section is not required if the expose
of private information was an inadvertent disclosure by persons authorized to access private information, and the
person or business reasonably determines such exposure will not likely result in misuse of such information or
financial harm to the affected persons or emotional harm in the case of unknown disclose of online credentials."
* Notify Attorney General: Yes

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 5000 residents

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 residents or $250,000 or the business does not have sufficient contact
information

* Credit Monitoring: No

NA

The court may award damages for actual costs or
losses incurred by a person entitled to notice,
including consequential financial losses.

Civil penalty: the greater of $5,000 or up to $20 per
instance of failed identification, provided that the
latter amount shall not exceed $250,000. N.Y. Gen.
Bus. Law § 899-AA(6)(a).

NA

Attorney General: N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 899-
AA(6)(a).

2019 Update

Updated the criteria that may require you to notify
the Attorney General.

Updated the options for why you can provide
substitute notice.

Updated the penalty information

Included additional statue which stated the
requirement to notify credit reporting agencies

Updated the penalty information

Corrected the citation stating that an attorney may
bring an action for unfair practices.

Updated the penalty requirements and corrected
citations.




Title or Description

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Reference

N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 349

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"Deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any business, trade or commerce or in the furnishing of any service in
this state are hereby declared unlawful."

Penalty

Up to $5,000 per violation: N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law §
350-d

Enforcement

Attorney General: N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 349(f)
& 350-d

The SHIELD Act

N.Y. Bill 5635-B; N.Y. Gen.
Bus. Law § 899-bb

Adds the following additional requirements to entities subject to various data security regulations and standards:
(b) A person or business shall be deemed to be in compliance with paragraph (a) of this subdivision if it either:
(i) is a compliant regulated entity as defined in subdivision one of this section; or

(i) implements a data security program that includes the following:

(A) reasonable administrative safeguards such as the following, in which the person or business:

(1) designates one or more employees to coordinate the security program;

(2) identifies reasonably foreseeable internal and external risks;

(3) assesses the sufficiency of safeguards in place to control the identified risks;

(4) trains and manages employees in the security program practices and procedures;

(5) selects service providers capable of maintaining appropriate safeguards, and requires those safeguards by
contract; and

(6) adjusts the security program in light of business changes or new circumstances; and

(B) reasonable technical safeguards such as the following, in which the person or business:

(1) assesses risks in network and software design;

(2) assesses risks in information processing, transmission and storage;

(3) detects, prevents and responds to attacks or system failures; and

(4) regularly tests and monitors the effectiveness of key controls, systems and procedures; and

(C) reasonable physical safeguards such as the following, in which the person or business:

(1) assesses risks of information storage and disposal;

(2) detects, prevents and responds to intrusions;

(3) protects against unauthorized access to or use of private information during or after the collection, transportation
and destruction or disposal of the information; and

(4) disposes of private information within a reasonable amount of time after it is no longer needed for business
purposes by erasing electronic media so that the information cannot be read or reconstructed.

Any person or business that fails to comply with
this subdivision shall be deemed to have violated
the New York Unfair and Deceptive Practices Act.

Attorney General: N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 899-
bb(d)

Definition of Personal
Information

N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 899-
AA(1)(a)

“Personal information” shall mean any information concerning a natural person which, because of name, number,
personal mark, or other identifier, can be used to identify such natural person

NA

NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

Definition of Private
Information

North Carolina Breach
Notification Law

Reference

N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 899-
AA(1)(b); N.Y. State Tech.
Law § 208(1)(a)

N.C. Gen. Stat § 75-65

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"Private information" shall mean either: (i) personal information consisting of any information in combination with
any one or more of the following data elements, when either the data element or the combination of personal
information or plus the data element is not encrypted, or is encrypted with an encryption key that has also been
accessed or acquired:

(1) social security number;

(2) driver's license number or non-driver identification card number; or

(3) account number, credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code,
password or other information that would permit access to an individual's financial account;

(4) account number, credit or debit card number, if circumstances exist wherein such number could be used to access
an individual's financial account without additional identifying information, security code, access code, or password;
or

(5) biometric information, meaning data generated by electronic measurements of an individual's unique physical
characteristics, such as a fingerprint, voice print, retina or iris image, or other unique physical representation or
digital representation of biometric data which are used to authenticate or ascertain the individual's identity; or

(ii) @ user name or e-mail address in combination with a password or security question and answer that would permit
access to an online account.

"Private information" does not include publicly available information which is lawfully made available to the general
public from federal, state, or local government records.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 or $250,000

 Credit Monitoring: No

* Other:

Penalty

NA

Up to $5,000 per violation: N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 75-
65(i), 75-15.2

Enforcement

NA

Attorney General: N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 75-65(i),
75-15

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 75-1.1

"Unfair methods of competition in or affecting commerce, and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in or affecting
commerce, are declared unlawful."

Up to $5,000 per violation: N.C. Gen. Stat. § 75-
15.2

Attorney General: N.C. Gen. Stat. § 75-15

2019 Update

As amended by N.Y. Bill. 5635-B




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

North Dakota Breach
Notification Law

Reference

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 75-61(10);
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-113.20

N.D. Cent. Code §§ 51-30-
02; 51-30-03;

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

“Personal information”.--A person's first name or first initial and last name in combination with identifying
information as defined in G.S. 14-113.20(b). Personal information does not include publicly available directories
containing information an individual has voluntarily consented to have publicly disseminated or listed, including
name, address, and telephone number, and does not include information made lawfully available to the general
public from federal, state, or local government records.

The term “identifying information” as used in this Article includes the following:

(1) Social security or employer taxpayer identification numbers.

(2) Drivers license, State identification card, or passport numbers.

(3) Checking account numbers.

(4) Savings account numbers.

(5) Credit card numbers.

(6) Debit card numbers.

(7) Personal Identification (PIN) Code as defined in G.S. 14-113.8(6).

(8) Electronic identification numbers, electronic mail names or addresses, Internet account numbers, or Internet
identification names.

(9) Digital signatures.

(10) Any other numbers or information that can be used to access a person's financial resources.
(11) Biometric data.

(12) Fingerprints.

(13) Passwords.

(14) Parent's legal surname prior to marriage.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 250 persons

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

o Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 persons or $250,000 or if they have insufficient contact information
 Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

NA

Up to $5,000 per violation: N.D. Cent. Code §§ 51-
30-07, 51-15-11

Enforcement 2019 Update

NA

Attorney General: N.D. Cent. Code § 51-30-07 Added additional statutes to clarify compliance

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

N.D. Cent. Code § 51-15-02

"The act, use, or employment by any person of any deceptive act or practice, fraud, false pretense, false promise, or
misrepresentation, with the intent that others rely thereon in connection with the sale or advertisement of any
merchandise, whether or not any person has in fact been misled, deceived, or damaged thereby, is declared to be an
unlawful practice. The act, use, or employment by any person of any act or practice, in connection with the sale or
advertisement of any merchandise, which is unconscionable or which causes or is likely to cause substantial injury to
a person which is not reasonably avoidable by the injured person and not outweighed by countervailing benefits to
consumers or to competition, is declared to be an unlawful practice."

Up to $5,000 per violation: N.D. Cent. Code § 51-15-|
11

Attorney General: N.D. Cent. Code § 51-15-07




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

Ohio Breach Notification Law

Reference

N.D. Cent. Code § 51-30-
01(4)

Ohio Rev. Code § 1349.19

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws
Synopsis

a. “Personal information” means an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any of the
following data elements, when the name and the data elements are not encrypted:
(1) The individual's social security number;
(2) The operator's license number assigned to an individual by the department of transportation under section 39-06-
14;
(3) A nondriver color photo identification card number assigned to the individual by the department of
transportation under section 39-06-03.1;
(4) The individual's financial institution account number, credit card number, or debit card number in combination
with any required security code, access code, or password that would permit access to an individual's financial
accounts;
(5) The individual's date of birth;
(6) The maiden name of the individual's mother;
(7) Medical information;
(8) Health insurance information;
(9) An identification number assigned to the individual by the individual's employer in combination with any required
security code, access code, or password; or
(10) The individual's digitized or other electronic signature.

b. “Personal information” does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the
general public from federal, state, or local government records.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: No longer than 45 days following the breach discovery date
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 residents or $250,000

 Credit Monitoring: No

* Other: Substitute notice exception for small businesses.

Penalty

NA

Cascading penalties based on delay: Ohio Rev.
Code § 1349.192

Enforcement

NA

Attorney General: Ohio Rev. Code § 1349.19(i)

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Ohio Rev. Code § 1345.02

"No supplier shall commit an unfair or deceptive act or practice in connection with a consumer transaction. Such an
unfair or deceptive act or practice by a supplier violates this section whether it occurs before, during, or after the
transaction."

Up to $25,000: Ohio Rev. Code § 1345.07

Attorney General: Ohio Rev. Code §
1345.02(E)(3)

2019 Update




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

Oklahoma Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Ohio Rev. Code §
1349.19(A)(7)

Okla. Stat. tit. 24, § 163

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
(a) “Personal information” means an individual's name, consisting of the individual's first name or first initial and last
name, in combination with and linked to any one or more of the following data elements, when the data elements
are not encrypted, redacted, or altered by any method or technology in such a manner that the data elements are
unreadable:
(i) Social security number;
(ii) Driver's license number or state identification card number;
(iii) Account number or credit or debit card number, in combination with and linked to any required security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to an individual's financial account.

(b) “Personal information” does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the
general public from federal, state, or local government records or any of the following media that are widely
distributed:

(i) Any news, editorial, or advertising statement published in any bona fide newspaper, journal, or magazine, or
broadcast over radio or television;

(ii) Any gathering or furnishing of information or news by any bona fide reporter, correspondent, or news bureau to
news media described in division (A)(7)(b)(i) of this section;

(iii) Any publication designed for and distributed to members of any bona fide association or charitable or fraternal
nonprofit corporation;

(iv) Any type of media similar in nature to any item, entity, or activity identified in division (A)(7)(b)(i), (ii), or (iii) of
this section

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 100,000 residents or $50,000
* Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

NA

Up to $150,000: Okla. Stat. § 24-165

Enforcement

NA

Attorney General: Okla. Stat. § 24-165

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Okla. Stat. tit. 15, § 753

"A person engages in a practice which is declared to be unlawful under the Oklahoma Consumer Protection Act
when, in the course of the person's business, the person .. ."

Up to $2,000 per violation or up to $10,000 per
willful violation: Okla. Stat. tit. 15, § 761.1

Attorney General: Okla. Stat. tit. 15, § 761.

Definition of Personal
Information

Oregon Breach Notification
Law

Okla. Stat. tit. 24, § 162(6)

Oregon Rev. Stat. §
646A.604

“Personal information” means the first name or first initial and last name in combination with and linked to any one
or more of the following data elements that relate to a resident of this state, when the data elements are neither
encrypted nor redacted:

a. social security number,

b. driver license number or state identification card number issued in lieu of a driver license, or

c. financial account number, or credit card or debit card number, in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to the financial accounts of a resident.

The term does not include information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available information, or from federal,
state or local government records lawfully made available to the general public;

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 250 residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay, but not later than 45 days after discovering or receiving
notification of the breach of security.

 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 350,000 residents and $250,000

* Credit Monitoring: Yes

NA

Or. Rev. Stat. §5 646A.604(9)(a), 646.642(3)

NA

Director of the Department of Consumer and
Business Services: Or. Rev. Stat. § 646A.624

2019 Update




Title or Description

Personal Information
Protection Act

Reference

Or. Rev. Stat. § 646A.622

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"covered entity and a vendor shall develop, implement and maintain reasonable safeguards to protect the security,
confidentiality and integrity of the personal information, including safeguards that protect personal information
when the covered entity or vendor disposes of the personal information."

Penalty

Up to $1000 per violation: Or. Rev. Stat. § 646A.624

Enforcement

Director of the Department of Consumer and
Business Services: Or. Rev. Stat. § 646A.624

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Or. Rev. Stat. § 646.607

"A person engages in an unlawful trade practice if in the course of the person's business, vocation or occupation the
person..."

Up to $250,000 per violation: Or. Rev. Stat. §
646.642(3)

Prosecuting attorney: Or. Rev. Stat. §
646.642(3)

Definition of Personal
Information

Pennsylvania Breach
Notification Law

Or. Rev. Stat. §
646A.602(11)

73 Pa. Stat. § 2303

(A) A consumer's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following data
elements, if encryption, redaction or other methods have not rendered the data elements unusable or if the data
elements are encrypted and the encryption key has been acquired:

(i) A consumer's Social Security number;

(ii) A consumer's driver license number or state identification card number issued by the Department of
Transportation;

(iii) A consumer's passport number or other identification number issued by the United States;

(iv) A consumer's financial account number, credit card number or debit card number, in combination with any
required security code, access code or password that would permit access to a consumer's financial account, or any
other information or combination of information that a person reasonably knows or should know would permit
access to the consumer's financial account;

(v) Data from automatic measurements of a consumer's physical characteristics, such as an image of a fingerprint,
retina or iris, that are used to authenticate the consumer's identity in the course of a financial transaction or other
transaction;

(vi) A consumer's health insurance policy number or health insurance subscriber identification number in
combination with any other unique identifier that a health insurer uses to identify the consumer; or

(vii) Any information about a consumer's medical history or mental or physical condition or about a health care
professional's medical diagnosis or treatment of the consumer.

(B) A user name or other means of identifying a consumer for the purpose of permitting access to the consumer's
account, together with any other method necessary to authenticate the user name or means of identification.

(B) (C) Any of the data elements or any combination of the data elements described in subparagraph

(A) or (B) of this paragraph without the consumer's user name, or the consumer's first name or first initial and last
name, if:

(i) Encryption, redaction or other methods have not rendered the data element or combination of data elements
unusable; and

(ii) The data element or combination of data elements would enable a person to commit identity theft against a
consumer.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 175,000 people or $100,000

* Credit Monitoring: No

NA

Up to $1,000 per violation: 73 Pa. Stat. §§ 2308,
201-8

NA

Attorney General: 73 Pa. Stat. § 2308

2019 Update

The definition for personal information was
amended in May of 2019 by Or. S.B.No. 684 to
include the phrase "A user name or other means of
identifying a consumer for the purpose of
permitting access to the consumer's account,
together with any other method necessary to
authenticate the user name or means of
identification."




Title or Description

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Reference

73 Pa. Stat. § 201-3

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce as
defined by subclauses (i) through (xxi) of clause (4) of section 21 of this act and regulations promulgated under
section 3.12 of this act are hereby declared unlawful. The provisions of this act shall not apply to any owner, agent or
employee of any radio or television station, or to any owner, publisher, printer, agent or employee of an Internet
service provider or a newspaper or other publication, periodical or circular, who, in good faith and without
knowledge of the falsity or deceptive character thereof, publishes, causes to be published or takes part in the
publication of such advertisement."

Penalty

Up to $1,000 per violation: 73 Pa. Stat. § 201-8

Enforcement

Attorney General: 73 Pa. Stat. § 201-8

Definition of Personal
Information

Rhode Island Breach
Notification Law

73 Pa. Stat. § 2302

R.l. Gen. Laws § 11-49.3-4

“Personal information.”

(1) An individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with and linked to any one or more of the
following data elements when the data elements are not encrypted or redacted:

(i) Social Security number.

(ii) Driver's license number or a State identification card number issued in lieu of a driver's license.

(iii) Financial account number, credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access
code or password that would permit access to an individual's financial account.

(2) The term does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general public from
Federal, State or local government records.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 500 residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 500 residents
* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

* Substitute Notice:

* Credit Monitoring:

e Other:

NA

$100 per reckless violation, $200 per
knowing/willful violation: R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-49.3-
5

NA

Attorney General: R.l. Gen. Laws § 11-49.3-5

Personal Information
Protection Act

R.l. Gen. Laws § 11-49.3-2

A municipal agency, state agency or person that stores, collects, processes, maintains, acquires, uses, owns or
licenses personal information about a Rhode Island resident shall implement and maintain a risk-based information
security program that contains reasonable security procedures and practices appropriate to the size and scope of the
organization; the nature of the information; and the purpose for which the information was collected in order to
protect the personal information from unauthorized access, use, modification, destruction, or disclosure and to
preserve the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of such information. A municipal agency, state agency, or
person shall not retain personal information for a period longer than is reasonably required to provide the services
requested; to meet the purpose for which it was collected; or in accordance with a written retention policy or as may
be required by law. A municipal agency, state agency, or person shall destroy all personal information, regardless of
the medium that such information is in, in a secure manner, including, but not limited to, shredding, pulverization,
incineration, or erasure.

$100 per reckless violation, $200 per
knowing/willful violation: R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-49.3-
5

Attorney General: R.l. Gen. Laws § 11-49.3-5

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

R.Il. Gen. Laws §
6-13.1-2

Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce are
declared unlawful.

Up to $10,000 per violation: R.I. Gen. Laws §
6-13.1-8

Attorney General: R.I. Gen. Laws §
6-13.1-8

2019 Update

Effective June 2016, add resident requirement to
Credit Reporting agencies, change 1000 to 500 for
resident requirement for credit reporting agencies.
Could not find substitute notice requirement in
citation.




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

South Carolina Breach
Notification Law

Reference

R.l. Gen. Laws § 11-49.3-
3(8)

S.C. Code § 39-1-90

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

“Personal information” means an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or
more of the following data elements, when the name and the data elements are not encrypted or are in hard copy,
paper format:

(i) Social security number;

(ii) Driver's license number, Rhode Island identification card number, or tribal identification number;

(iii) Account number, credit, or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code,
password, or personal identification number, that would permit access to an individual's financial account;

(iv) Medical or health insurance information; or

(v) E-mail address with any required security code, access code, or password that would permit access to an
individual's personal, medical, insurance, or financial account.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 1000 residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

 Substitute Notice: Yes, if the person demonstrates that the cost of providing notice exceeds two hundred fifty
thousand dollars or that the affected class of subject persons to be notified exceeds five hundred thousand or the
person has insufficient contact information.

 Credit Monitoring:

 Other:

Penalty

NA

$1,000 per resident for knowing or willful violation:
S.C. Code § 39-1-90(H)

Enforcement

NA

Attorney General: S.C. Code § 39-1-90(H)

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

S.C. Code § 39-5-20

Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce are
hereby declared unlawful.

Up to $5,000 per violation: S.C. Code § 39-5-110

Attorney General: S.C. Code § 39-5-110

Definition of Personal
Identifying Information

South Dakota Breach
Notification Law

S.C. Code § 39-1-90(D)(3)

S.D. Codified Laws §§ 22-40-
20 to 22-40-26

“Personal identifying information” means the first name or first initial and last name in combination with and linked
to any one or more of the following data elements that relate to a resident of this State, when the data elements are
neither encrypted nor redacted:

(a) social security number;

(b) driver's license number or state identification card number issued instead of a driver's license;

(c) financial account number, or credit card or debit card number in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to a resident's financial account; or

(d) other numbers or information which may be used to access a person's financial accounts or numbers or
information issued by a governmental or regulatory entity that uniquely will identify an individual.

The term does not include information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available information, or from federal,
state, or local governmental records lawfully made available to the general public.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 250 residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Within 60 days of breach discovery date.
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 people or $250,000

¢ Credit Monitoring:

¢ Other:

NA

Up to $10,000 per day per violation: S.D. Codified
Laws § 22-40-25

NA

Attorney General: S.D. Codified Laws § 22-40-
25

2019 Update




Title or Description

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Reference

S.D. Codified Laws § 37-24-
6

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

"It is a deceptive act or practice for any person to:

(1) Knowingly act, use, or employ any deceptive act or practice, fraud, false pretense, false promises, or
misrepresentation or to conceal, suppress, or omit any material fact in connection with the sale or advertisement of
any merchandise, regardless of whether any person has in fact been misled, deceived, or damaged thereby. . ."

Penalty

Up to $2,000 per violation: S.D. Codified Laws § 37-
24-27

Enforcement

Attorney General: S.D. Codified Laws § 37-24-
23

Definition of Personal

S.D. Codified Laws § 22-40-

“Personal information,” a person's first name or first initial and last name, in combination with any one or more of
the following data elements:

(a) Social security number;

(b) Driver license number or other unique identification number created or collected by a government body;

(c) Account, credit card, or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code,
password, routing number, PIN, or any additional information that would permit access to a person's financial
account;

(d) Health information as defined in 45 CFR 160.103; or

(e) An identification number assigned to a person by the person's employer in combination with any required
security code, access code, password, or biometric data generated from measurements or analysis of human body
characteristics for authentication purposes.

The term does not include information that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal, state, or

Information 19(4) local government records or information that has been redacted, or otherwise made unusable; and NA NA
“Protected information,” includes:
(a) A user name or email address, in combination with a password, security question answer, or other information
that permits access to an online account; and

Definition of Protected S.D. Codified Laws § 22-40- |(b) Account number or credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code, or

Information 19(5) password that permits access to a person's financial account; NA NA

Tennessee Breach Notification

Law

Tenn. Code § 47-18-2107

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes, within 45 of breach discovery date
* How many days to notify: Within 45 day of breach discovery

« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 people or $250,000

 Credit Monitoring: No

civil penalty of whichever of the following is
greater: ten thousand dollars ($10,000), five
thousand dollars ($5,000) per day for each day that
a person's identity has been assumed or ten (10)
times the amount obtained or attempted to be
obtained by the person using the identity theft.:
Tenn. Code § 47-18-2105

Division of Consumer Affairs of the
Department of Commerce and Insurance:
Tenn. Code § 47-18-2105

2019 Update




Title or Description

Personal Information
Protection Act

Reference

Tenn. Code § 47-18-2110

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

On and after January 1, 2008, any person, nonprofit or for profit business entity in this state, including, but not
limited to, any sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company, or corporation, engaged in any business,
including, but not limited to, health care, that has obtained a federal social security number for a legitimate business

or governmental purpose shall make reasonable efforts to protect that social security number from disclosure to the

public.

Penalty

civil penalty of whichever of the following is
greater: ten thousand dollars ($10,000), five
thousand dollars ($5,000) per day for each day that
a person's identity has been assumed or ten (10)
times the amount obtained or attempted to be
obtained by the person using the identity theft.: TN
ST § 47-18-2105

Enforcement

Division of Consumer Affairs of the
Department of Commerce and Insurance: TN
ST § 47-18-2105

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Tenn. Code § 47-18-104

The following unfair or deceptive acts or practices affecting the conduct of any trade or commerce are declared to be

unlawful and in violation of this part:

Up to $1,000 per violation: TN ST § 47-18-108(b)(3)

Division of Consumer Affairs of the
Department of Commerce and Insurance: TN
ST §47-18-108

Definition of Personal
Information

Tenn. Code § 47-18-
2107(a)(4)

“Personal information”:

(A) Means an individual's first name or first initial and last name, in combination with any one (1) or more of the

following data elements:
(i) Social security number;
(ii) Driver license number; or

(iii) Account, credit card, or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password that would permit access to an individual's financial account; and

(B) Does not include information that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal, state, or local
government records or information that has been redacted, or otherwise made unusable; and

NA

NA

2019 Update




Title or Description

Texas Breach Notification Law

Reference

Tex. Bus. & Com. Code §
521.053

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws
Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: No
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 10,000 people
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay and in each case not later than the 60th day after the date
on which the person determines that the breach occurred.
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if: 500,000 people or $250,000
* Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

Between $2,000 and $50,000 per violation and up
to $150,000 in additional penalties: Tex. Bus. &
Com. Code § 521.151

Enforcement

Attorney General: Tex. Bus. & Com. Code §
521.151

Personal Information
Protection Act

Tex. Bus. & Com. Code §
521.052

"A business shall implement and maintain reasonable procedures, including taking any appropriate corrective action,
to protect from unlawful use or disclosure any sensitive personal information collected or maintained by the business
in the regular course of business."

Between $2,000 and $50,000 per violation: Tex.
Bus. & Com. Code § 521.151

Attorney General: Tex. Bus. & Com. Code §
521.151

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive

Tex. Bus. & Com.

"False, misleading, or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce are hereby declared

Up to $20,000 per violation: Tex. Bus. & Com.

Consumer Protection Division, Attorney
General: Tex. Bus. & Com.

Acts and Practices Code §17.45 unlawful and are subject to action by the consumer protection division. . ." Code § 17.47 Code § 17.47
“Personal identifying information” means information that alone or in conjunction with other information identifies
an individual, including an individual's:
(A) name, social security number, date of birth, or government-issued identification number;
(B) mother's maiden name;
(C) unique biometric data, including the individual's fingerprint, voice print, and retina or iris image;
Definition of Personal Tex. Bus. & Com. Code § (D) unique electronic identification number, address, or routing code; and
Identifying Information 521.002(a)(1) (E) telecommunication access device as defined by Section 32.51, Penal Code. NA NA
“Sensitive personal information” means, subject to Subsection (b):
(A) an individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following items,
if the name and the items are not encrypted:
(i) social security number;
(ii) driver's license number or government-issued identification number; or
(iii) account number or credit or debit card number in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password that would permit access to an individual's financial account; or
(B) information that identifies an individual and relates to:
(i) the physical or mental health or condition of the individual;
(i) the provision of health care to the individual; or
(iii) payment for the provision of health care to the individual.
Definition of Sensitive Personal|Tex. Bus. & Com. Code § (b) For purposes of this chapter, the term “sensitive personal information” does not include publicly available
Information 521.002(a)(2) information that is lawfully made available to the public from the federal government or a state or local government |NA NA

2019 Update

Amended by 2019 Tex. Sess. Law Serv. Ch. 1326 (HB
4390): Privacy of Personal Identifying Information
and the Creation of the Texas Privacy Protection
Advisory Council - Disclosures of Data breach must
be made without unreasonable delay and not later
than the 60th day after the person determines a
breach has occurred; person who finds the breach
must notify the attorney general no later than 60
days after the breach is discovered and it effected at
least 250 residents of Texas.

Amended by 2019 Tex. Sess. Law Serv. Ch. 759 (HB
1152): Deceptive Trade Practice of Charging
Exorbitant or excessive prices for necessities during
a declared disaster (focused primarily on building
supplies).




Title or Description

Utah Breach Notification Law

Reference

Utah Code § 13-44-202

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: No
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Not allowed
® Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

Up to $100,000: Utah Code § 13-44-301

Enforcement

Attorney General: Utah Code § 13-44-301

Personal Information
Protection Act

Utah Code § 13-44-201

"Any person who conducts business in the state and maintains personal information shall implement and maintain
reasonable procedures to:

(a) prevent unlawful use or disclosure of personal information collected or maintained in the regular course of
business; and

(b) destroy, or arrange for the destruction of, records containing personal information that are not to be retained by
the person."

Up to $100,000: Utah Code § 13-44-301

Attorney General: Utah Code § 13-44-301

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Utah Code § 13-11-5

"An unconscionable act or practice by a supplier in connection with a consumer transaction violates this actl whether
it occurs before, during, or after the transaction."

Up to $2,500 per violation (administrative fine):

Utah Code § 13-11-17

Division of Consumer Protections: Utah Code §
13-11-17

Definition of Personal
Information

Utah Code § 13-44-102(4)

(a) “Personal information” means a person's first name or first initial and last name, combined with any one or more
of the following data elements relating to that person when either the name or date element is unencrypted or not
protected by another method that renders the data unreadable or unusable:

(i) Social Security number;

(ii)(A) financial account number, or credit or debit card number; and

(B) any required security code, access code, or password that would permit access to the person's account; or

(iii) driver license number or state identification card number.

(b) “Personal information” does not include information regardless of its source, contained in federal, state, or local
government records or in widely distributed media that are lawfully made available to the general public.

NA

NA

2019 Update

Amendments effective May 14, 2019:

1. Provides that statute is not applicable to financial
institutions

2. Provides for new notification requirement for
residents who can't reached: you can announce in a
newspaper of general circulation

3. Amends the penalties: there is no cap for fines if
10,000 or more consumers were effected and if the
person effected settles on an amount larger than
$100K

4. Statute of limitations for administrative action is
10 years after the day on which the data breach
occurred; SOL for a civil action is 5 years

5. Provides for the ability to sue for treble damages
6. Creates an Attorney General Litigation fund for
actions brought by the state and citizen education
and outreach

Amendments effective May 14, 2019:

No longer a provision which states that this
provision does not apply to a financial institution;
the whole chapter does not apply to a financial
institution as defined in 13-44-102




Title or Description

Vermont Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Vit. Stat. tit. 9 § 2435

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: Yes, within 14 business days of breach discovery
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 5,000 residents or $5,000
 Credit Monitoring:
¢ Other:

Penalty

Unclear from statute

Enforcement

Attorney General: Vt. Stat. tit. 9 § 2435(g)

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Vt. Stat. tit. 9, § 2453

"Unfair methods of competition in commerce and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in commerce are hereby
declared unlawful."

Up to $10,000 per violation: Vt. Stat. tit. 9, § 2461

Attorney General: Vt. Stat. tit. 9, § 2461

Definition of Brokered

(A) “Brokered personal information” means one or more of the following computerized data elements about a
consumer, if categorized or organized for dissemination to third parties:

(i) name;

(ii) address;

(iii) date of birth;

(iv) place of birth;

(v) mother's maiden name;

(vi) unique biometric data generated from measurements or technical analysis of human body characteristics used by
the owner or licensee of the data to identify or authenticate the consumer, such as a fingerprint, retina or iris image,
or other unique physical representation or digital representation of biometric data;

(vii) name or address of a member of the consumer's immediate family or household;

(viii) Social Security number or other government-issued identification number; or

(ix) other information that, alone or in combination with the other information sold or licensed, would allow a
reasonable person to identify the consumer with reasonable certainty.

(B) “Brokered personal information” does not include publicly available information to the extent that it is related to

Personal Information Vt. Stat. tit. 9 § 2430(1) a consumer's business or profession. NA NA
(A) “Personally identifiable information” means a consumer's first name or first initial and last name in combination
with any one or more of the following digital data elements, when either the name or the data elements are not
encrypted or redacted or protected by another method that renders them unreadable or unusable by unauthorized
persons:
(i) Social Security number;
(ii) motor vehicle operator's license number or nondriver identification card number;
(iii) financial account number or credit or debit card number, if circumstances exist in which the number could be
used without additional identifying information, access codes, or passwords;
(iv) account passwords or personal identification numbers or other access codes for a financial account.
Definition of Personally (B) “Personally identifiable information” does not mean publicly available information that is lawfully made available
Identifiable Information Vt. Stat. tit. 9 § 2430(9) to the general public from federal, State, or local government records. NA NA

2019 Update

Proposed changes:

Feb. 19, 2019 - This bill proposes to create a chief
privacy officer; to direct the State to conduct a
privacy audit concerning the collection and use of
citizens’ data; to adopt a student online privacy
protection act; to expand the definition of
personally identifiable information subject to the
Security Breach Notice Act and ensure consumer
notice of a data breach; and to require internet
service providers to provide notice concerning the
potential sharing of private data.

March 20, 2019 - The same bill above was
engrossed in the Vermont Legislature.




Title or Description

Virginia Breach Notification

Law

Reference

Va. Code § 18.2-186.6

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 1000 residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
 Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 100,000 residents or $50,000
* Credit Monitoring:

* Other: Special provisions for income tax data

Penalty

Up to $150,000 per breach: Va. Code § 18.2-
186.6(1)

Enforcement

Attorney General: Va. Code § 18.2-186.6(1)

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Va. Code § 59.1-200

"The following fraudulent acts or practices committed by a supplier in connection with a consumer transaction are
hereby declared unlawful . . ."

Up to $2,500 per violation: Va. Code § 59.1-206

Attorney General: Va. Code § 59.1-206

Definition of Personal
Information

Washington Breach
Notification Law

Va. Code § 18.2-186.6

Wash. Rev. Code §
19.255.010

“Personal information” means the first name or first initial and last name in combination with and linked to any one
or more of the following data elements that relate to a resident of the Commonwealth, when the data elements are
neither encrypted nor redacted:

1. Social security number;

2. Driver's license number or state identification card number issued in lieu of a driver's license number;

3. Financial account number, or credit card or debit card number, in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to a resident's financial accounts;

4. Passport number; or

5. Military identification number.

The term does not include information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available information, or from federal,
state, or local government records lawfully made available to the general public.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: Yes, if over 500 residents

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: No more than 30 days after the breach discovery
* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 500,000 residents or $250,000

 Credit Monitoring:

* Other: Reimbursement from businesses to financial institutions provision

NA

Up to $25,000: Wash. Rev. Code §§ 19.255.010(17),
19.86.140

NA

Attorney General: Wash. Rev. Code &
19.255.010(17)

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Wash. Rev. Code &
19.86.020

"Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce
are hereby declared unlawful."

Up to $25,000: Wash. Rev. Code § 19.86.140

Attorney General: Wash. Rev. Code &
19.86.080

2019 Update

Amended March 18, 2019 by HB 2396 - "Personal
information" shall include passport number and
military ID in addition to social security number,
driver's license/ID number, and financial account
numbers

Amended by HB 2218 March 18, 2019 (unrelated to
cyber security).

Changed 45 to 30 days notice. Passed Bill will be
effective March 1, 2020.
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-
20/Pdf/Bills/House%20Passed%20Legislature/1071-
S.PL.pdf




Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Information

West Virginia Breach
Notification Law

Reference

Wash. Rev. Code §
19.255.010

W.Va. Code § 46A-2A-102

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
(i) An individual's first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following data
elements:
(A) Social security number;
(B) Driver's license number or Washington identification card number;
(C) Account number or credit or debit card number, in combination with any required security code, access code, or
password that would permit access to an individual's financial account, or any other numbers or information that can
be used to access a person's financial account;
(D) Full date of birth;
(E) Private key that is unique to an individual and that is used to authenticate or sign an electronic record;
(F) Student, military, or passport identification number;
(G) Health insurance policy number or health insurance identification number;
(H) Any information about a consumer's medical history or mental or physical condition or about a health care
professional's medical diagnosis or treatment of the consumer; or
(1) Biometric data generated by automatic measurements of an individual's biological characteristics such as a
fingerprint, voiceprint, eye retinas, irises, or other unique biological patterns or characteristics that is used to identify
a specific individual;
(ii) Username or email address in combination with a password or security questions and answers that would permit
access to an online account; and
(iii) Any of the data elements or any combination of the data elements described in (a)(i) of this subsection without
the consumer's first name or first initial and last name if:
(A) Encryption, redaction, or other methods have not rendered the data element or combination of data elements
unusable; and
(B) The data element or combination of data elements would enable a person to commit identity theft against a
consumer.

(b) Personal information does not include publicly available information that is lawfully made available to the general
public from federal, state, or local government records.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 100,000 residents or $50,000
 Credit Monitoring: No

e Other:

Penalty

NA

Up to $5,000 per violation: W.Va. Code §§ 46A-2A-
104, 46A-7-111

Enforcement

NA

Attorney General: W.Va. Code § 46A-2A-104

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

W. Va. Code § 46A-6-104

Unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or commerce are
hereby declared unlawful."

Up to $5,000 per violation: W.Va. Code § 46A-7-
111

Attorney General: W.Va. Code § 46A-7-111

Definition of Personal
Information

W. Va. Code § 46A-6-101(6)

“Personal information” means the first name or first initial and last name linked to any one or more of the following
data elements that relate to a resident of this state, when the data elements are neither encrypted nor redacted:
(A) Social security number;

(B) Driver's license number or state identification card number issued in lieu of a driver's license; or

(C) Financial account number, or credit card, or debit card number in combination with any required security code,
access code or password that would permit access to a resident's financial accounts.

The term does not include information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available information, or from federal,
state or local government records lawfully made available to the general public.

NA

NA
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Title or Description

Wisconsin Breach Notification
Law

Reference

Wis. Stat. § 134.98

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws
Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: No
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Within 45 days of the breach discovery date
* Substitute Notice: Yes, see statute
* Credit Monitoring:

Penalty

None

Enforcement

No one

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Wis. Stat. § 100.20

"Methods of competition in business and trade practices in business shall be fair. Unfair methods of competition in
business and unfair trade practices in business are hereby prohibited."

From $100 to $10,000 per violation: Wis. Stat. §
100.26(6)

The Department of Agriculture, trade, and
consumer protection: Wis. Stat. § 100.20

Definition of Personal
Information

Wyoming Breach Notification
Law

Wis. Stat. § 134.98(1)(b)

Wyo. Stat. § 40-12-502

“Personal information” means an individual's last name and the individual's first name or first initial, in combination
with and linked to any of the following elements, if the element is not publicly available information and is not
encrypted, redacted, or altered in a manner that renders the element unreadable:

1. The individual's social security number.

2. The individual's driver's license number or state identification number.

3. The number of the individual's financial account number, including a credit or debit card account number, or any
security code, access code, or password that would permit access to the individual's financial account.

4. The individual's deoxyribonucleic acid profile, as defined in s. 939.74(2d)(a).

5. The individual's unique biometric data, including fingerprint, voice print, retina or iris image, or any other unique
physical representation.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
* Substitute Notice: Yes, see statute

* Credit Monitoring: No

NA

Damages: Wyo. Stat. § 40-12-502

NA

Attorney General: Wyo. Stat. § 40-12-502(f)

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Wyo. Stat. § 40-12-105

"A person engages in a deceptive trade practice unlawful under this act when, in the course of his business and in
connection with a consumer transaction, he knowingly. . ."

Up to $5,000 per violation: Wyo. Stat. § 40-12-113

Attorney General: Wyo. Stat. § 40-12-113
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Title or Description

Definition of Personal
Identifying Information

District of Columbia Breach
Notification Law

Reference

Wyo. Stat. § 40-12-
501(a)(viii); Wyo. Stat. § 6-3-
901(b)(iii)-(xiv)

D.C. Code § 28- 3852

1
Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws
Synopsis
“Personal identifying information” means the first name or first initial and last name of a person in combination with
one (1) or more of the data elements specified in W.S. 6-3-901(b)(iii) through (xiv), when the data elements are not
redacted;

(iv) Driver's license number;

(v) Account number, credit card number or debit card number in combination with any security code, access code or
password that would allow access to a financial account of the person;

(vi) Tribal identification card;

(vii) Federal or state government issued identification card;

(viii) Shared secrets or security tokens that are known to be used for data based authentication;

(ix) A username or email address, in combination with a password or security question and answer that would permit
access to an online account;

(x) A birth or marriage certificate;

(xi) Medical information, meaning a person's medical history, mental or physical condition, or medical treatment or
diagnosis by a health care professional;

(xii) Health insurance information, meaning a person's health insurance policy number or subscriber identification
number, any unique identifier used by a health insurer to identify the person or information related to a person's
application and claims history;

(xiii) Unique biometric data, meaning data generated from measurements or analysis of human body characteristics
for authentication purposes;

(xiv) An individual taxpayer identification number.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: Yes, if over 1000 residents
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 100,000 or $50,000

* Credit Monitoring: No

Penalty

NA

$100 per Affected Resident: D.C. Code § 28- 3853

Enforcement

NA

US Attorney General: D.C. Code § 28- 3853

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

D.C. Code § 28-3904

"It shall be a violation of this chapter, whether or not any consumer is in fact misled, deceived or damaged thereby,
for any person to: . .."

Up to $1000 per violation: D.C. Code § 28-3909

Corporation Counsel: D.C. Code § 28-3909

Definition of Personal
Information

D.C. Code § 28-3851(3)

(A) “Personal information” means:

(i) An individual's first name or first initial and last name, or phone number, or address, and any one or more of the
following data elements:

(1) Social security number;

(I1) Driver's license number or District of Columbia Identification Card number; or

(1) Credit card number or debit card number; or

(ii) Any other number or code or combination of numbers or codes, such as account number, security code, access
code, or password, that allows access to or use of an individual's financial or credit account.

(B) For purposes of this paragraph, the term “personal information” shall not include publicly available information
that is lawfully made available to the general public from federal, state, or local government records.

NA

NA
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Title or Description

Guam Breach Notification Law

Reference

9 Guam Code §48.30

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis
* Notify Affected Residents: Yes
* Notify Attorney General: No
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No
« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes
* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay
« Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 5,000 residents or $10,000
 Credit Monitoring: No
 Other:

Penalty

Up to $150,000 per breach: 9 GCA § 48.50

Enforcement

The Attorney General: 9 GCA § 48.50

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

5 Guam Code § 32201

False, misleading, or deceptive acts or practices, including, but not limited to those listed in this chapter, are hereby
declared unlawful and are subject to action by the Attorney General or any person as permitted pursuant to this
chapter or other provisions of Guam law. A violation consisting of any act prohibited by this title is in itself
actionable, and may be the basis for damages, rescission, or equitable relief. The provisions of this chapter are to be
liberally construed in favor of the consumer, balanced with substantial justice, and violation of such provisions may
be raised as a claim, defense, crossclaim or counterclaim.

Up to $5,000 per violation: 5 GCA § 32127

Attorney General: 5 GCA § 32116

Definition of Personal
Information

Puerto Rico Breach
Notification Law

9 Guam Code § 48.20(f)

P.R. Laws tit. 10 § 4052

Personal information means the first name, or first initial, and last name in combination with and linked to any one
or more of the following data elements that relate to a resident of Guam, when the data elements are neither
encrypted nor redacted:

(1) Social Security number;

(2 )Driver's license number or Guam identification card number issued in lieu of a driver's license; or

(3) Financial account number, or credit card or debit card number, in combination with any required security code,
access code, or password that would permit access to a resident's financial accounts.

(4) The term does not include information that is lawfully obtained from publicly available information, or from
Federal, State, or local government records lawfully made available to the general public.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify the Secretary of Consumer Affairs: Yes, within 10 days
* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

* If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

o Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 100,000 people or $100,000
 Credit Monitoring: No

* Must make public announcement within 24 hours

NA

Up to $5,000 per violation of the provisions of this
chapter: 10 Laws of Puerto Rico § 4055

NA

PRSTT. 10§ 4055
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Title or Description

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

Reference

P.R. Laws Tit. 10 §259

Survey of Other States' Cyber Laws

Synopsis

Unfair methods of competition, and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in trade or commerce are hereby declared
unlawful.

Penalty

a civil penalty imposed by the Department of
Consumer Affairs up to a maximum of five
thousand dollars ($5,000). Each separate violation
of said decision shall be considered as continuous
noncompliance therewith, in which case, each day
the decision is not complied with shall be
considered as a separate violation. 10 Laws of
Puerto Rico § 259

Enforcement

PRSTT.10§ 259

Definition of Personal
Information File

Virgin Islands Breach
Notification Law

P.R. Laws Tit. 10 § 4051(a)

V.l. Code tit. 14 § 2208

Personal information file. Refers to a file containing at least the name or first initial and the surname of a person,
together with any of the following data so that an association may be established between certain information with
another and in which the information is legible enough so that in order to access it there is no need to use a special
cryptographic code.

(1) Social security number.

(2) Driver's license number, voter's identification or other official | identification.

(3) Bank or financial account numbers of any type with or without passwords or access code that may have been
assigned.

(4) Names of users and passwords or access codes to public or private information systems.

(5) Medical information protected by the HIPAA.

(6) Tax information.

(7) Work-related evaluations.

Neither the mailing nor the residential address is included in the protected information or information that is a public
document and that is available to the citizens in general.

* Notify Affected Residents: Yes

* Notify Attorney General: No

* Notify Credit Reporting Agencies: No

« If not data owner, notify data owner: Yes

* How many days to Notify: Without unreasonable delay

* Substitute Notice: Yes, if over 50,000 residents or $100,000
* Credit Monitoring: No

* Other:

NA

Actual damages: 14 V.I.C. § 2211

NA

Private right of action: 14 V.I.C. § 2211

Unfair, Deceptive, or Abusive
Acts and Practices

V.l. Code tit. 12A § 101

No person shall engage in any deceptive or unconscionable trade practice in the sale, lease, rental or loan or in the
offering for sale, lease, rental, or loan of any consumer goods or services, or in the collection of consumer debts.

Up to $5,000 per violation: V.I. Code tit. 12, § 104

The Commissioner: V.I. Code tit. 12, § 104
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Survey of Federal Cyber Laws

Date Title Subtitle Reference Information

1914 Executive Order 13571 15 U.S.C. § 45, et seq. Gave the FTC the authority to enforce rules prohibiting “unfair or deceptive acts or practices in or affecting commerce."

FTC Section 5 Authority 15 U.S.C. § 45(a)(1), et seq. The basic consumer protection statute enforced by the Commission is Section 5(a) of the FTC Act, which provides that "unfair or deceptive acts or practices in
or affecting commerce...are...declared unlawful."

1966 Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) of 1966 5U.S.C.§552, et seq. Under FOIA, “any person” may request “records” maintained by an executive agency. People or entities requesting records need not state a reason for
requesting records. Today, all fifty states have freedom of information laws, many of which are based upon the FOIA.

1968 Wiretap Act of 1968 18 U.S.C. § 2511, et seq. Broadly prohibits the intentional interception, use, or disclosure of wire and electronic communications unless a statutory exception applies. In general, these
prohibitions bar unauthorized third parties (including the government) from wiretapping telephones and installing electronic "sniffers” that read Internet
traffic.

1968 Omnibus Crime and Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 18 U.S.C. §§ 2510-22, etseq. | Extended the reach of wiretap regulations to state officials as well as to private parties. Despite its profound increase in the extent of protection, Title Ill had
important limitations. It applied to the interception of “aural” communications; it did not apply to visual surveillance or other forms of electronic
communication.

1970 Fair Credit Reporting Act of 1970 15U.S.C. § 1681, et seq. The Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) provides limited protections for individuals. It enables people to access their records, and restricts the manner in which
records are disclosed. Individuals can challenge inaccuracies on their reports and can sue to collect damages for violations of the Act. However, FCRA
immunizes creditors and credit reporting agencies from lawsuits for “defamation, invasion of privacy, or ” except when the information is
“furnished with malice or willful intent to injure such consumer.” Although the FCRA allows people to sue for negligent violations of the Act, there is a two-
year statute of limitations “from the date on which the liability arises."

1970 Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations (RICO) Act 118 US.C. ch. 96 Passed in 1970, the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO) is a federal law designed to combat organized crime in the United States. It

of 1970 allows prosecution and civil penalties for racketeering activity performed as part of an ongoing criminal enterprise. Such activity may include illegal gambling,
bribery, kidnapping, murder, money laundering, counterfeiting, embezzlement, drug trafficking, slavery, and a host of other unsavory business practices.

1970 Bank Secrecy Act of 1970 Pub. L. No. 91-508 The Bank Secrecy Act, enacted in 1970, requires banks to retain records and create reports to help law enforcement investigations. The Act was passed due to
concerns that the computerization of records would make white collar crime more difficult to detect. Federally insured banks must record the identities of

12 U.S.C. §§1730(d), 1829b,  |account holders and maintain copies of each financial instrument. International transactions exceeding $5,000 are subject to reporting, as well as domestic

1951-59, et seq. transactions exceeding $10,000.

31U.5.C. H9 1051-1122, et seq. |In California Bankers Ass'n v. Shultz, 416 U.S. 21 (1974), the Supreme Court upheld the Act against a Fourth Amendment challenge by a group of bankers and
account holders. The Court concluded that the bankers lacked Fourth Amendment rights in the data because “corporations can claim no equality with
individuals in the enjoyment of a right to privacy.” Id at 65. The account holders failed to allege that they engaged in transactions exceeding $10,000, and as a
result, lacked standing.

1974 Privacy Act of 1974 5U.5.C.§552a, et seq. The Act responded to many of the concerns raised by the United States Department of Health Education and Welfare (HEW) report, “Records, Computers,
and the Rights of Citizens." It regulates the collection and use of records by federal agencies, and affords individuals right to access and correct their personal
information.

1974 Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 20U.5.C. §1232g, et seq. The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA), otherwise known as the “Buckley Amendment,” regulates the accessibility of student records.
FERPA does not apply to records maintained by school law enforcement officials or health and psychological records.

1978 Protection of Pupil Rights Amendment ("PPRA") of 1978 20U.S.C.§1232h, et seq.; PPRA s a federal law that affords certain rights to parents of minor students with regard to surveys that ask questions of a personal nature. Briefly, the law

34 CF.R. part 98, et seq. requires that schools obtain written consent from parents before minor students are required to participate in any U.S. Department of Education funded
survey, analysis, or evaluation that reveals information certain topics.

1978 Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 50 U.S.C. §§ 1801-11, et seq.

The Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) of 1978, created a distinct regime for electronic surveillance to gather foreign intelligence. Whereas Title Il
regulated electronic surveillance for domestic law enforcement purposes, FISA applied when foreign intelligence gathering was “the purpose” of the
investigation. FISA permits electronic surveillance and covert searches pursuant to court orders, which are reviewed ex parte by a special court of seven
federal judges.

2019 Update

2006 amendment defines "unfair or deceptive acts or practices” to include acts or practices involving foreign commerce that "(i) cause or are likely to cause
reasonably foreseeable injury within the United States; or (i) involve material conduct occurring within the United States."

The 2016 amendment added:

+a requirement that agencies make information available to the public in an electronic, searchable, and downloadable format

=when an agency may withhold information, which is only when (i) the agency reasonably foresees that disclosure would harm an interest protected by an
exemption described in the statute; or (i) disclosure is prohibited by law. The agency must also consider in these circumstances whether partial disclosure is
warranted whenever full disclosure is not possible; the agency must take reasonable steps of segregate and release nonexempt information.

«The Electronic Communications Privacy Act of 1986 (ECPA) amended the Wiretap Act by extending to data and electronic transmissions the same protection
afforded to oral and wire communications.

HR 3622 was introduced in the House of Representatives on July 5, 2019 to amend the Fair Credit Reporting Act "to restore the impaired credit of victims of
predatory activities and unfair consumer reporting practices, to expand access to tools to protect vulnerable consumers from identity theft, fraud, or a
related crime, and protect victims from further harm..."

Melanson v. US Forensic, LLC (2016): ED New York held the National Flood Insurance Program preempts RICO
« In re Epogen & Aranesp Off-Label Marketing & Sales Practice Litigation (2008): CD California held specific representations that are literally false, misleading,
or contain material omissions are actionable under RICO and not preempted by the FDCA

«Title il of the USA Patriot Act amended the BSA to require financial i to establish anti y ing programs by establishing internal policies,
procedures, and controls, designating compliance officers, providing ongoing employee training, and testing programs through independent audits.




1978

Title
Right to Financial Privacy Act of 1978

Subtitle

Reference
29 U.S.C. § 3407, et seq.

Survey of Federal Cyber Laws

Information
The Right to Financial Privacy Act (RFPA) provided limited protection of financial records to fill the gap left by United States v. Miller , 425 U.S. 435, 435
(1976). Pursuant to the RFPA, government officials must use a warrant or subpoena to obtain financial information. There must be “reason to believe that the
records sought are relevant to a legitimate law enforcement inquiry.” Subject to certain exceptions, the customer must receive prior notice of the subpoena.

1978

Airline Deregulation Act -
Preemption of authority over prices, routes, and service

49 US.CA. §41713, et seq.

“[A] State, political subdivision of a State, or political authority of at least 2 States may not enact or enforce a law, regulation, or other provision having the
force and effect of law related to a price, route, or service of an air carrier that may provide air transportation under this subpart."

1979

Drug Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Rehabilitation Act
of 1979

42 CFR.part2, etseq.

Drug Abuse , Treatment, and Act (Act) is a federal statute designed to be a practical resource for governments, policy planners,
service commissioners and treatment providers against drug abuse. The Act makes provision for federal drug abuse programs and activities. The Act also
provides for education, treatment, rehabilitation, research, training, and law enforcement efforts to prevent drug abuse.

1980

Privacy Protection Act of 1980

42 U.S.C. § 2000aa, et seq.

Dissatisfaction over Zurcher v. Stanford Daily , 436 U.S. 547 (1978) led Congress to pass the Privacy Protection Act in 1980. The Act restricts the search or
seizure of

“any work product materials possessed by a person reasonably believed to have a purpose to disseminate to the public a newspaper, book, broadcast, or
other similar form of public communication.” As a result of the Act, a subpoena is needed to obtain work product materials, which permits the party to
challenge the request in court

and to produce the documents without having law enforcement officials intrude on the premises.

1984

Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984

42 U.S.C. §551, et seq.

The Cable Communications Policy Act (CCPA) of 1984 protects the privacy of cable records. Cable companies must notify subscribers about the collection and
use of personal information. Companies cannot disclose a subscriber 's viewing habits. The Act is enforced with a private right of action.

1986

Computer Fraud and Abuse Act of 1986

18 U.5.C. § 1030, et seq.

A United States cybersecurity bill that was enacted in 1986 as an amendment to existing computer fraud law (18 U §1030), which had been included in
the Comprehensive Crime Control Act of 1984. The law prohibits accessing a computer without authorization, or in excess of authorization.

The original 1984 bill was enacted in response to concern that computer-related crimes might go unpunished. The House Committee Report to the original
computer crime bill characterized the 1983 techno-thriller film WarGames—in which a young Matthew Broderick breaks into a U.S. military supercomputer
programmed to predict possible outcomes of nuclear war and unwittingly almost starts World War lli—as "a realistic representation of the automatic dialing
and access capabilities of the personal computer.”

1988

Computer Matching and Privacy Protection Act of 1988

5U.5.C. § 552a(a)(8)~(13),
(e)(12), (0)—(r), (u)), et seq.

Amajor loophole in the Privacy Act of 1974 has been the “routine use” exception. Under this exception, to detect fraud, the federal government in 1977
began running computer comparisons of employee records with the records of people receiving benefits. In 1988, Congress addressed this practice, known as
“computer matching” by passing the Computer Matching and Privacy Protection Act. The law established procedures for computer matchings, but did not
halt the practice.

1988

Employee Polygraph Protection Act of 1988

29 U.S.C. §§ 2001-09, et seq.

In 1988, Congress passed the Employee Polygraph Protection Act (EPPA). The EPPA prohibits private sector employers from using polygraph examinations on
employees and prospective employees. The Act does not apply to public sector can, however, use “in with an
ongoing investigation

involving economic loss or injury to the employer's business, such as theft, embezzlement, misappropriation, or an act of unlawful industrial espionage or
sabotage” when “the employer has a reasonable suspicion that the employee was involved in the incident or activity under investigation.” Private sector
employers

who provide security services are exempt.

1988

Video Privacy Protection Act of 1988

18 U.S.C. § 2710(b), et seq.

The confirmation hearings of Supreme Court Justice nominee Robert Bork sparked a law to protect videocassette rental data. Reporters attempted to obtain
alist of the videos Bork had rented from his video store. Incensed at this practice, Congress passed the Video Privacy Protection Act (VPPA) of 1988.251 The
VPPA forbids videotape service providers from disclosing customer video rental or purchase

information

1986

Electronic Communications Privacy Act of 1986

18 U.S.C. §§ 2510-22,
2701-11, 3121-27, et seq.

In 1986, Congress revisited its wiretapping law by substantially reworking Title Il of 1968. The Electronic Communications Privacy Act (ECPA) expanded Title Il
to new forms of communications, with a particular focus on computers. The ECPA restricts the interception of i and the searching
of stored communications. Title | of the ECPA, known as the “Wiretap Act,” regulates the interception of communications. Title I, referred to as the “Stored
Communications Act,” governs access to stored communications and records held by communications service providers (such as ISPs). Title Il called the “Pen
Register

Act,” provides limited regulation of pen registers and trap and trace devices.

2019 Update

Language is different from what is cited under the information column, the general rule reads: "Except as provided in subparagraph (8), a State, political
subdivision of a State, or political authority of 2 or more States may not enact or enforce a law, regulation, or other provision having the force and effect of
law related to a price, route, or service of an air carrier or carrier affiliated with a direct air carrier through common controlling ownership when such carrier
is transporting property by aircraft or by motor vehicle (whether or not such property has had or will have a prior or subsequent air movement)."

"Matters not covered: Subparagraph (A)--

(i) shall not restrict the safety regulatory authority of a State with respect to motor vehicles, the authority of a State to impose highway route controls or
Add to summary: The Act also provides for the confidentiality of substance use disorder patient records.

Statutory Authority: 42 U.S.C.A. § 290dd-2; this statute has proposed legislation which strikes 'substance abuse' and inserts 'substance abuse disorder’
Proposed Legislation: See "Overdose Prevention and Patient Safety Act" below

Held unconstitutional as not severable in Texas v. United States, 340 F. Supp. 3d 579 (N.D. Tex. 2018).




Survey of Federal Cyber Laws

Date Title Subtitle Reference Information

1991 Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991 47U.S.C.§227, etseq. In 1991, Congress enacted the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA), which permits people to request that telemarketers not call them again. If the
telemarketer continues to call, people can sue for damages of up to $500 for each call.

1993 Government Performance and Results Act of 1993 Pub. L. No. 103-62 Requires executive agency heads to submit to the Director of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) and the Congress a strategic plan for performance
goals of their agency's program activities. Requires such plan to cover at least a five-year period and to be updated at least every three years.

See: https://www.congress.gov/bill/103rd-congress/senate-bill/20

1994, Driver’s Privacy Protection Act of 1994 18U.S.C. §§2721-25, etseq.  |In 1994, Congress passed the Driver ’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), which requires that states first obtain a person’s consent before disclosing her motor
vehicle
record information to marketers.

1995 Paperwork Reduction Act (PRA) of 2005 44U.5.C. §3501, et seq. Designed to reduce the public’s burden of answering unnecessary, duplicative, and burdensome government surveys.

1996 Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Pub. L. No. 104-191, The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) of 1996 is the first federal statute to directly address health privacy. HIPPA required the

of 1996 110 Stat. 1936 Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to draft regulations to protect the privacy of medical records. HHS's regulations, among other things,
require that people authorize all uses and disclosures of their health information that are not for treatment, payment, or health care operation (such as for
marketing purposes).

HIPAA Privacy Rule 45 CF.R. part 160, et seq. and 45| The HIPAA Privacy Rule establishes national standards to protect individuals’ medical records and other personal health information and applies to health
C.F.R. part 164, subparts A and E, | plans, health care clearinghouses, and those health care providers that conduct certain health care transactions electronically. The Rule requires appropriate
etseq. safeguards to protect the privacy of personal health information, and sets limits and conditions on the uses and disclosures that may be made of such

information without patient authorization. The Rule also gives patients rights over their health information, including rights to examine and obtain a copy of
their health records, and to request corrections.

HIPAA Security Rule 45 C.F.R. part 160 and 45 C.F.R. | The HIPAA Security Rule establishes national standards to protect individuals’ electronic personal health information that is created, received, used, or
part 164, subparts Aand C, et | maintained by a covered entity. The Security Rule requires appropriate administrative, physical and technical safeguards to ensure the confidentiality,
seq. integrity, and security of electronic protected health information.

HIPAA Breach Notification Rule 45 CFR part 164, subpart D, et |Requires HIPAA covered entities and their business associates to provide notification following a breach of unsecured protected health information.
seq.

Uses and disclosures for which an authorization or opportunity to 45 C.F.R. § 164.512, et seq. Provides when covered entities or business associates are nor required to obtain valid authorization to use or disclose protected health information. General

agree or object is not required. exceptions exist for public health activities.

Uses and disclosures to carry out treatment, payment, or health |45 C.F.R. § 164.506, et seq. Provides when covered entities or business associates are nor required to obtain valid authorization to use or disclose protected health information. General

care operations. exceptions exist for collection of payments for medical services.

Imposition of Civil Money Penalties 45 CFR, part 160, subpart D, et |Provides guidelines for determining what amount an entity should be penalized for violating HIPAA.
seq.

1996 Economic Espionage Act of 1996 18 U.S.C. §61831-39, etseq.  |This regulation is intended to protect from disclosure outside the government proprietary information that is provided to the government during a bidding
process. Exemption 4 of the Freedom of Information Act exempts from mandatory disclosure information such as trade secrets and commercial or financial
information obtained by the government from a company on a privileged or confidential basis that, if released, would result in competitive harm to the
company, impair the government's ability to obtain like information in the future, or protect the government's interest in compliance with program
effectiveness. The law on Disclosure of Confidential Information (18 U.S.C. § 1905) makes it a crime for a federal employee to disclose such information

1997 No Electronic Theft Act of 1997 Pub. L. No. 105-147 Provides for criminal prosecution of individuals who engage in copyright infringement under certain circumstances, even when there is no monetary profit or

commercial benefit from the infringement.

2019 Update
47 USC § 227(b)(1)(A){ii) debt-collection exception found unconstitutional in Duguid v. Facebook, Inc. (Sth Circuit, 2019)
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Date Title Subtitle Reference Information

1998 Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998 15U.S.C. §§ 6501-06, et seq. | The Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA) of 1998 governs the collection of children’s personal information on the Internet. The law only applies to
children under the age of thirteen. Children’s websites must post privacy policies and obtain “parental consent for the collection, use, or disclosure of personal
information from "children.” COPPA applies only to websites “directed to children” or where the operator of the website “has actual knowledge that it is
collecting personal information from a child.”

1998 Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) of 1998 Pub. L. No. 105-304; AU.S. copyright law that implements two 1996 treaties of the World Property O (WIPO). It production and
of technology, devices, or services intended to circumvent measures that control access to copyrighted works (commonly known as digital rights

17 US.C. §§ 101, 104, 104A, management or DRM). It also criminalizes the act of circumventing an access control, whether or not there is actual infringement of copyright itself. In
108, 112, 114,117, 701, et seq,; |addition, the DMCA heightens the penalties for copyright infringement on the Internet.
17 U.S.C. §§ 512, 12011205,
1301-1332, et seq;
28U.5.C. § 4001, et seq.
1999 U.S. Uniform Computer Information Transactions Act Uniform Laws Annotated. UCITA provides a comprehensive set of rules for licensing computer information, whether computer software or other clearly identified forms of computer
(UCITA) of 1999 Uniform Computer Information  [information. Computerized databases and computerized music are other examples of computer information that would be subject to UCITA. It would also
Transactions Act govern access contracts to sites containing computer information, whether on or off the Internet. UCITA would also apply to storage devices, such as disks
(Last Amended or Revised in 2002) and CDs that exist only to hold computer information. Professional services by a member of a regulated profession (doctor, lawyer, accountant, for example)
(Last Amended or Revised in are not within UCITA even though communications about the transaction will be in the form of computer information.
2002)

1999 The Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act of 1999 15 U.S.C. § 6802(a)-(b), et seq. [In 1999, Congress passed the Gramm-Leach-Bliley (GLB) Act, which allows financial institutions with different branches or affiliates engaging in different
services to share the “nonpublic personal information” among each branch of the company. Affiliates must inform customers of the information sharing, but
people have no right to stop the companies from sharing it. However, when financial institutions desire to share customer data with third parties, people have
aright to opt-out.

2000 Security and Exchange Commission ("SEC") Privacy of 17 C.F.R. part 248, subpart A, et |The SEC adopted Regulation S-P, privacy rules promulgated under section 504 of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act. Section 504 of GLBA required the Commission

Consumer Financial Information Regulations of 2000 seq. to adopt rules implementing notice requirements and restrictions on a financial institution’s ability to disclose nonpublic personal information about
The jonii these requil of the GLBA with respect to investment advisers registered with the Commission, brokers, dealers,
and investment companies, which are the financial institutions subject to the Commission's jurisdiction under that Act.

2000 U.S. Congress Electronic Signatures in Global National Pub. L. No. 106-229, 15 U.S.CA. | The ESIGN Act is a landmark federal law in the United States. Passed in 2000, it granted legal recognition to electronic signatures and records in the USA based Added 15 U.S.C.A. § 7001 under reference

("ESIGN") Commerce Act of 2000 §7001 on the understanding that if all parties to a contract choose to use electronic documents and to sign them electronically, they are legal.
The ESIGN Act (along with its precursor UETA) provided the legal foundation for use of electronic records and electronic signatures in commerce. It confirmed
that electronic records and signatures carry the same weight and have the same legal effect as traditional paper documents and wet ink signatures.

2001 The U.S. Provide Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept Pub. L. No. 107-56 In a very short time after the September 11 terrorist attack, Congress passed the “Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required

and Obstruct Terrorism (PATRIOT) Act of 2001

to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act” (USA PATRIOT Act) of 2001. The Act made several significant changes to the ECPA and FISA, among other statutes. In
one amendment, the USA PATRIOT Act enlarged the definition of pen registers and trap and trace devices to apply to addressing information on emails and to
“IP addresses.” The Act also provided for new justifications for delayed notice of search warrants, increasing the types of subscriber records that could be
obtained from ISPs and communications providers, and allowing for a nationwide scope for pen register orders and search warrants for email. The Act also
provided for roving wiretaps under FISA as well as increased sharing of foreign intelligence information between law enforcement entities.
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Date Title Subtitle Reference Information
2002 Confidential Information Protection and Statistical 44 USCA § 101, TITLE CIPSEA establishes uniform confidentiality protections for information collected for statistical purposes by U.S. statistical agencies, and it allows some data
Efficiency Act (CIPSEA) of 2002 V—CONFIDENTIAL sharing between the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and Census Bureau. The agencies report to OMB on particular actions related to
INFORMATION PROTECTION | confidentiality and data sharing.
AND STATISTICAL EFFICIENCY,
PUBLIC LAW 107-347 The law give the agencies standardized approaches to protecting information from respondents so that it will not be exposed in ways that lead to
or surprising ofther By default the ‘s data is used for statistical purposes only. If the respondent gives
informed consent, the data can be put to some other use.
2002 Sarbanes-Oxley Act ("SOX") of 2002 15 U.S.C. ch. 2A, 98, et seq, SOX protects shareholders and the general public from accounting errors and fraudulent practices of organizations. It imposes criminal penalties for
Public Law 107-204 and altering to impede an Sarbanes-Oxley also established an oversight board for the accounting
, regulates the between corporations and firms, and shields corporate whistleblowers from retaliation. It was tailored to
improve the accuracy of corporate disclosures. SOX compliance has recently shifted to include cybersecurity.
2002 E-Government Act of 2002 44U.5.C.§3501, et seq,, Established procedures to ensure the privacy of personal information in electronic records.
Section 208 of the E-Government Act of 2002 requires agencies to conduct privacy impact assessments (PIAs) for electronic information systems and
collections. PIAs must be made publicly available, unless the agency determines not to make the PIA publicly available if such publication would raise security
concerns, reveal classified (.., national security), or reveal sensitive information (e.g., potentially damaging to a national interest, law enforcement effort, or
competitive business interest).
2002 The Homeland Security Act of 2002 6U.S.C.§222, etseq. 6 In 2002, Congress passed the Homeland Security Act, which created the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), consisting of twenty-two federal agencies.
U.S.CA.Ch. 6, Refs & Annos- [ The Act created a Privacy Office for ensuring compliance with privacy laws. Executive Order was published in May of 2017 to strengthen the cybersecurity of
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 13800. | Federal networks and infrastructure.
AIISC ch 18101
2002 Federal Information Security Management Act ("FISMA") 44U5.C.§3551, etseq. 44 FISMA is United States legislation that defines a comp framework to protect information, and assets against natural or man-
of 2002 U.S.C.§3541, et seq. made threats. FISMA assigns responsibilities to various agencies to ensure the security of data in the federal government. The act requires program officials,
and the head of each agency, to conduct annual reviews of information security programs, with the intent of keeping risks at or below specified acceptable
levels in a cost-effective, timely and efficient manner.
2003 Do-Not-Call Implementation Act (National Do-Not-Call 15 U.S.C. ch. 87-87A, et seq. 15 U|In an effort to address unwanted telemarketing calls, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) created a do-
Registery) of 2003 not-call registry. People can voluntarily register their telephone numbers, and commercial telemarketers are prohibited from calling the numbers.
Telemarketers challenged
the do-not-call registry as a violation of their First Amendment rights. In 2004, a federal circuit court concluded in Mainstream Marketing Services, Inc. v.
Federal Trade Commission , 358 F.3d 1228 (10th Cir. 2004) that the do-not-call registry satisfied the Central Hudson Gas & Elec. Corp. v. Public Service
Commission of New York , 447 U.S. 557 (1980) balancing test for commercial speech and therefore did not run afoul of the First Amendment.
2003 The CAN-SPAM Act of 2003 15 U.S.C. § 7701, et seq.
The Act establishes requirements for those who send unsolicited commercial email. The Act bans false or misleading header information and prohibits
deceptive subject lines. It also requires that unsolicited commercial email be identified as advertising and provide recipients with a method for opting out of
receiving any such email in the future. In addition, the Act directs the FTC to issue rules requiring the labeling of sexually explicit commercial email as such and
ishing the criteria for determining the primary purpose of a commercial email.
2003 The Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of 2003 Pub. L. No. 108-159, 117 Stat. |In 2003, Congress passed the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FACTA), which amended the Fair Credit Reporting Act and extended its preemption on
1952, codified to 15 U.S.C. §§ | certain state law provisions addressing identity theft and credit reporting. Among other things, the
1681-1681x FACTA provided some limited protections against identity theft. For example, FACTA requires credit reporting agencies to provide people with a free credit
report each year. It requires credit reporting agencies to disclose to a consumer her credit score, and it allows victims of fraud to alert just one credit
reporting agency, which then must notify the others. These provisions and others were criticized by many as not going far enough to address the problem of
identity theft.
2004 The Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of Pub. L. No. 108-458. 50 U.S.C. [In 2004, Congress passed the Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act to facilitate greater information sharing between federal agencies. The Act
2004 ch. 15 § 401 et seq. requires that intelligence be “provided in its most shareable form” and it aims to “promote a culture of information sharing.
2005 The Real ID Act of 2005 Pub. L. No. 109-13. 8 U.S.C.ch. |Attached to a military spending bill, and passed without debate, the Real ID Act of 2005 mandated that state driver ’s licenses meet federal standards set forth

12, subch. 1§ 1101 et seq.

by the DHS. Critics claimed that it would establish a de facto national identification card and that it would be extremely costly for the states to implement.

2019 Update
added PUBLIC LAW 107-347 and TITLE V—CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION PROTECTION AND STATISTICAL EFFICIENCY,

Added: imposes criminal penalties for and altering toimpede an . Sarbanes-Oxley also an
oversight board for the regulates the between corporations and firms, and shields corporate whistleblowers
from retaliation; AND Public Law 107-204 in reference

added 6 U.S.C.A. Ch. 6, Refs & Annos - EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 13800 and information on the executive order

Amended by PL 115-323 [HR 3398]. An Act To amend the Real ID Act of 2005 to permit Freely Associated States to meet identification requirements under
such Act, and for other purposes. SEC. 2. AMENDMENT.

() DEFINITION OF STATE.—Section 201(5) of the Real ID Act of 2005 (49 U.S.C. 30301 note; Public Law 109-13) is amended by striking “the Trust Territory of
the Pacific Islands,”.

(b) EVIDENCE OF LAWFUL STATUS.—Section 202(c)(2)(B) of the REAL ID Act of 2005 (49 U.S.C. 30301 note; Public Law 109-13) is amended—
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Date Title Subtitle Reference Information
2006 U.S. SAFE WEB Act of 2006 Pub. L. No. 109-455, 120 Stat. | This Act, amending the FTC Act of 1914, provides the FTC with a number of tools to improve enforcement regarding consumer protection matters,
3372, extended by Pub. L. No. | particularly those with an international dimension, including increased cooperation with foreign law enforcement ities through confidential information
116-173, 134 Stat. 837, codified |sharing and provision of investigative assistance. The Act also allows enhanced staff exchanges and other international cooperative efforts.
at 15 U.S.C. §§ 41 et seq.
2007 Open Government Act of 2007 Public Law No. 110-175; Promotes accessibility, accountability, and openness in Government by strengthening 5 U.S.C. § 552 and codifies several provisions of Executive Order 13,392,
“Improving Agency Disclosure of Information."
5U.5.C.§552, et seq.
2007 The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) of 2007 5U.5.C.§552, et seq. Amended Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) of 1966.
Provides that any person has a right, enforceable in court, to obtain access to federal agency records, except to the extent that such records (or portions of
them) are protected from public disclosure by one of nine exemptions or by one of three special law enforcement record exclusions.
2008 Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act ("GINA") of 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 2000ff - GINA protects individuals against discrimination based on their genetic information in health coverage and in employment. GINA is divided into two sections,
2008 2000f(11), et seq. Pub.L. or Titles. Title | of GINA prohibits discrimination based on genetic information in health coverage. Title Il of GINA prohibits discrimination based on genetic
110-233 information in employment.
2009 Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical 42 CFR.parts412,413,422,  |Promotes the adoption and use of health information . Subtitle D of the HITECH Act addresses the privacy and security concerns
Health Act ("HITECH Act") and 495, et seq. Pub.L. 111-5. |associated with the electronic transmission of health information, in part, through several provisions that strengthen the civil and criminal enforcement of the
HIPAA rules.

Access to systems and records. 42 CF.R.§495.346, et seq. "The State agency must allow HHS access to all records and systems operated by the State in support of this program, including cost records associated with
approved administrative funding and incentive payments to Medicaid providers. State records related to contractors employed for the purpose of assisting
with implementation or oversight activities or providing assistance, at such intervals as are deemed necessary by the Department to determine whether the
conditions for approval are being met and to determine the efficiency, economy, and effectiveness of the program.”

Combating fraud and abuse. 42 C.F.R.§495.368, et seq. "(a) General rule.

(1) The State must comply with Federal requirements to—
(i) Ensure the qualifications of the providers who request Medicaid EHR incentive payments;
(ii) Detect improper payments; and
(iii) In accordance with § 455.15 and § 455.21 of this chapter, refer suspected cases of fraud and abuse to the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit.
(2) The State must take corrective action in the case of improper EHR payment incentives to Medicaid providers."
2010 Government Performance and Results Modernization Pub. L. No. 111-352 Amends the Government Performance and Results Act of 1993 to require each executive agency to make its strategic plan available on its public website on
(GPRM) Act of 2010 the first Monday in February of any year following that in which the term of the President commences and to notify the President and Congress. Requires
(Amends the Government such plan to cover at least a four-year period and to include a description of how the agency is working with other agencies to achieve its goals and objectives,
(Amends the Government Performance and Results Act of Performance and Results Act of |as well as relevant federal government priority goals.
1993) 1993)
Requires the Director of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to coordinate with agencies to develop a federal government performance plan, which
shall be submitted with the annual federal budget and concurrently made available on an OMB website of agency programs. Requires such plan to: (1)
establish government performance goals for the current and next fiscal years; (2) identify activities, entities, and policies contributing to each goal; (3) identify
alead official for i efforts to achieve the goal; (4) establish common federal government performance indicators with
quarterly targets; (5) establish clearly defined quarterly milestones; and (6) identify major management challenges and plans to address such challenges.
2014 Federal Information Security Modernization Act of 2014 44U.5.C. §3541, et seq. Pub.L. 1| This Act amends the Federal Information Security Management Act of 2002, 44 U.S.C. § 3541, and requires agencies to develop, document, and implement an
agency-wide program to provide information security for the information and information systems that support the operations and assets of an agency.
2017 Social Security Number Fraud Prevention Act of 2017 Pub. L. No. 115-59. 5 U.S.C. 551. | This Act: (1) prohibits federal agencies from including any individual's Social Security account number on any document sent by mail unless the agency head

31Us.C.901

determines that such inclusion is necessary; and (2) requires agencies that have Chief Financial Officers to issue regulations, within five years of this bill's
enactment, that specify the circumstances under which such inclusion is necessary.
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Multiple edits were made to 42 C.F.R. parts 412, 413, 422, and 495 by 83 FR 41144-01, 2018 WL 3918164(F.R.) that were effective Oct. 1, 2018.
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2017 The Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications 21U.S.C.§823, et seq. In 1970, the Controlled Substances Act (CSA) was created to regulate substances that have the potential to be abused. At the time, the CSA lacked instructions
Act of 2017 Public Law No: 115-83. for the mai and use of these by medical services (EMS). States, therefore, created their own EMS-related controlled
substances requirements. In 2017, the Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act (PPAEMA) was introduced in the United States Congress to
amend the CSA to include EMS requirements and end confusion among states and EMS agencies.
2018 Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement 48 CFR. §201.104, et seq. DFARS Safeguarding riles and clauses, for the basic safeguarding of contractor information systems that process, store or transmit Federal contract
("DFARS") information. DFARS provides a set of “basic” security controls for contractor information systems upon which this information resides. These security controls
must be implemented at both the contractor and subcontractor levels based on the information security guidance in NIST Special Publication 800-171
“Protecting Controlled Unclassified Information in Non-Federal Information Systems and Organizations.”
1973 Organization of Economic C ion and Di U.S. Department of Health, The OCED Fair Information Practices were articulated by the United States Department of Health Education and Welfare (HEW) in 1973. HEW investigated the
(OECD) Fair Information Practices Education, and Welfare, issues with increasing computerization of information and growing depositories of personal data. The report recommended the page of a code of Fair
Records, Computers, andthe | Information Practices, which were later codified in the Privacy Act of 1974.
Rights of Citizens: Report of the
Secretary's Advisory Comm. On | The recommended practices included the following:
Automated Personal Data 1. There must be no personal data record-keeping systems whose very existence is secret.
Systems 29 (1973) 2. There must be a way for an individual to find out what information about him is in a record and how it is used.
3. There must be a way for an individual to prevent information about him obtained for one purpose from being used or made available for other purposes
without his
consent.
4. There must be a way for an individual to correct or amend a record of identifiable information about him.
5. Any ization creating, maintaining, using, or disseminating records of identi personal data must assure the reliability of the data for their intended
use and must take ions to prevent misuse of the data.
1980 [o] ization of Economic C ion and D Guidelines on the Protection of | The OECD Privacy Guidelines built upon the Fair Information Practices articulated by the United States Department of Health Education and Welfare (HEW).
(OECD) Privacy Guidelines Privacy and Transborder Flows | The OECD Guidelines contain eight principles:
of Personal Data, available in
Marc Rotenburg, Privacy Law (1) collection limitation—data should be collected lawfully with the individual’s consent;
Sourcebook (2002) (2) data quality—data should be relevant to a particular purpose and be accurate;
(3) purpose specification—the purpose for data collection should be stated at the time of the data collection and the use of the data should be limited to this
purpose;
(4) use limitation—data should not be disclosed for different purposes without the consent of the individual;
(5) security safeguards—data should be protected by reasonable safeguards;
(6) openness principle—individuals should be informed about the practices and polices of those handling their personal information;
(7) individual participation—people should be able to learn about the data that an entity possesses about them and to rectify errors or problems in that data;
(8) accountability—the entities that control personal information should be held accountable for carrying out these principles.
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Cloud Security Alliance

Survey of Institutions

Information
Offers a number of certifications including:
CSA Security, Trust & Assurance Registry (STAR)
Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK)
Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)
Global Consultancy Program

https://cloudsecurityalliance.org/

Commission on Accreditation for
Law Enforcement Agencies
("CALEA")

CALEA is intended to preserve the ability of law enforcement agencies to conduct
electronic surveillance while protecting the privacy of information outside the scope of
the investigation. It requires that telecommunications carriers and manufacturers of
telecommunications equipment design their equipment, facilities, and services to ensure
that they have the necessary surveillance capabilities to comply with legal requests for
information.

http://www.calea.org/

Control Objectives for Information
and Related Technologies ("COBIT")

COBIT 5 is the only business framework for the governance and management of
enterprise IT. COBIT 5 integrates other major frameworks, standards and resources,
including ISACA's Val IT and Risk IT, Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL®)
and related standards from the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).

http://www.isaca.org/Knowledge-
Center/COBIT/Pages/Overview.aspx

Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission (FERC)

Revised Critical Infrastructure
Protection (CIP) Reliability
Standards

NERC, which FERC has certified as the nation’s Electric Reliability Organization, developed
Critical Infrastructure Protection (CIP) cyber security reliability standards. On January 18,
2008, the Commission issued Order No. 706, the Final Rule approving the CIP reliability
standards, while concurrently directing NERC to develop significant modifications
addressing specific concerns.

In January 2016, FERC issued a Final Rule revising the CIP reliability standards. Docket No.
RM15-14-000. As of December 2017, FERC release a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking to
direct NERC to develop and submit modifications to improve mandatory reporting of
Cyber Security Incidents. [Docket Nos. RM18-2-000 and AD17-9-000.

https://www.ferc.gov/industries/electric/indus-
act/reliability/cybersecurity.asp
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Title
Federal Financial Institutions
Examination Councils ("FFIEC")

Survey of Institutions

Information
The Council is a formal interagency body empowered to prescribe uniform principles,
standards, and report forms for the federal examination of financial institutions by the
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (FRB), the Federal Deposit Insurance
Corporation (FDIC), the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), the Office of the
Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB)
and to make recommendations to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial
institutions.

Guidance includes:

Online Banking: https://www.ffiec.gov/pdf/authentication_guidance.pdf
FFIEC Cybersecurity Assessment Tool: https://www.ffiec.gov/cyberassessmenttool.htm

https://www.ffiec.gov/

Health Insurance Trust Alliance
(HITRUST) CSF

HITRUST CSF is a certifiable framework that provides organizations with a
comprehensive, flexible and efficient approach to regulatory compliance and risk
management.

https://hitrustalliance.net/hitrust-csf/

Indiana Department of Financial
Institutions (DFI)

Enforces FFIEC standards.

https://www.in.gov/dfi/

Indiana State Insurance
Commissioners Navigators and
Application Organizations

https://www.in.gov/idoi/

International Organization for
Standardization ("ISO")

ISO creates documents that provide requirements, specifications, guidelines or
characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes
and services are fit for their purpose.

https://www.iso.org/home.html

ISA/IEC 62443 (ISA99)

The ISA-99/IEC 62443 standard is the worldwide standard for security of the Industrial
Control Systems in the Operational Technology (OT) domain of organizations. The
standard was created by the International Society of Automation, a leading worldwide
nonprofit organization. The standard offers organizations handles to improve the digital
security and safety of their process and SCADA environments.

https://www.isa.org/isa99/
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National Institute of Standards and
Technology ("NIST")

Survey of Institutions
Information URL

NIST is a measurement standards laboratory, and a non-regulatory agency of the United |https://www.nist.gov/
States Department of Commerce.

North American Electric Reliability
Corporation ("NERC")

The North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) is a not-for-profit
international regulatory authority whose mission is to assure the effective and efficient
reduction of risks to the reliability and security of the grid. NERC develops and enforces
Reliability Standards; annually assesses seasonal and long-term reliability; monitors the
bulk power system through system awareness; and educates, trains, and certifies
industry personnel. https://www.nerc.com/Pages/default.aspx

PCI Security Standards Council

SSAE-18/ ISAE 3402

Helps merchants and financial institutions understand and implement standards for
security policies, technologies and ongoing processes that protect their payment systems
from breaches and theft of cardholder data. Also helps vendors understand and
implement standards for creating secure payment solutions.

https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/
ISAE 3402 was developed to provide an international assurance standard for allowing

public accountants to issue a report for use by user organizations and their auditors (user

auditors) on the controls at a service organization that are likely to impact or be a part of

the user organization’s system of internal control over financial reporting. https://www.ssae-16.com/soc-1-report/the-ssae-18-

audit-standard/
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Title
China Cybersecurity Law (CSL)

Survey of International Cyber Laws

Country
CHINA

Information
CSL regulates the construction, operation, maintenance and use of networks, as
well as network security supervision and management within mainland China.
The Cyberspace Administration of China (CAC) is the primary governmental
authority supervising and enforcing the CSL.

Applies to
China

Notes Clerk Notes
New provisions made to China's Cybersecurity Law last

November gives state agencies the legal authority to

remotely conduct penetration testing on any internet-

related business operating in China, and even copy and

later share any data government officials find on

inspected systems.

https://www.zdnet.com/article/chinas-cybersecurity-

law-update-lets-state-agencies-pen-test-local-

companies/ Added the whole notes section.

Network and Information Systems
Regulations of 2018 (NIS Regulations)

NIS directive was put into place 5/10/2018. The directive increases cyber-
security, while also providing members of EU the opportunity to be flexible in
containing more or less restrictions than expected by the Directive.

3 important elements of the directive:

1. National Capabilities (set of requirements i.e. national CSIRT)

2. Cross Border Collaborations

3. National supervision of Critical Sectors
https://theprivacyreport.com/2019/01/16/the-uks-new-cybersecurity-
regulations-what-u-s-tech-companies-need-to-know/.
https://www.enisa.europa.eu/topics/nis-directive.
https://digitalguardian.com/blog/what-gdpr-general-data-protection-regulation-
understanding-and-complying-gdpr-data-protection

United Kingdom

On 6 December 2020, the EU Commission published its
proposal for a Directive on Security of Network and
Information Systems (NIS 2 Directive). The NIS2
Directive is designed to update the current NIS
Directive. The proposal for the NIS2 Directive will be
subject to negotiations between the EU Council and the
EU Parliament and, once it is adopted, Member States
will have to transpose the NIS2 Directive within 18
months.

Added the whole information section.

General Data Privacy Regulation
(GDPR)

EUROPEAN UNION The EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) replaces the Data Protection
Directive 95/46/EC and was designed to harmonize data privacy laws across
Europe, to protect and empower all EU citizens data privacy and to reshape the

way organizations across the region approach data privacy.

https://digitalguardian.com/blog/what-gdpr-general-data-protection-regulation-
understanding-and-complying-gdpr-data-protection

Countries that belong to the EEA include EU + 3.
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus,
Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece,
Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein,
Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway,
Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain,
Sweden. Non-EU countries in the EEA Norway,
Iceland, Liechtenstein

While GDPR is in place as law, there is not yet specific
country by country adoption of laws to align or go
stricter than GDPR. It should be expected that
Germany, France and Spain will go above and beyond
the standard GDPR language and add more provisions.
[CLERK ADDED SECTION]: Countries that are not a part
of the EU, but process EU information must also comply
to the GDPR/NIS Directive. Otherwise, there is potential
for an up to 4% penalty of the international company's
global annual revenue. See https://gov-
relations.com/itar/

NIS Directive

EUROPEAN UNION Enforced by NIS Regulation

Countries that belong to the EEA include EU + 3.
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus,
Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece,
Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein,
Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway,
Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain,
Sweden. Non-EU countries in the EEA Norway,
Iceland, Liechtenstein

On 16.12.2020, the European Commission presented a
proposal for a Directive on measures for a high
common level of cybersecurity across the Union (NIS 2
Directive). This proposal aims to replace and further
develop the NIS Directive.

International Traffic in Arms
Regulations (ITAR)

A United States regulatory regime to restrict and control the export of defense
and military related technologies to safeguard U.S. national security and further
U.S. foreign policy objectives

ITAR is the International Traffic in Arms Regulations and requires, in part, that
defense-related articles and technical data listed on the United States Munitions
List USML only be shared with U.S. citizens absent special authorization or
exemption.

Furthermore, ITAR is a set of standards that deals with information security
UNITED STATES . that bandle tact
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U.S. Government

While this act is set to ensure the safety of highly
classified information, 'US persons' does not exclusively
mean US citizens i.e. Clifford Chance (Law Firm) was
subject to a $132,000 fine for excluding non/dual
citizens from receiving authorized exports. See
http://exportcompliancesolutions.com/blog/2018/09/2

0/u-s-persons-include-just-citizens/ Added the whole notes section.

Added section to notes. Deleted UK from the EU list (pending Brexit - continue to monitor).

Updated information section, deleted UK (pending Brexit - continue to monitor).




Title
Encryption and Export Administration
Regulations (EAR)

Survey of International Cyber Laws

Country
United States

Information
The Export Administration Regulations (EAR) is a set of US government
regulations on the export and import of most commercial items. The U.S.
Department of Commerce is responsible for implementing and enforcing EAR.
Specifically, working with items deemed dual-use and having both commercial
and military applications. In particular, encryption or Cryptographic
Information Security

U.S. Government

Applies to

Notes

EAR is used for some items that do not qualify under
the specified lists of ITAR (considered 'dual use') but
may also be useful in civilian or military purposes

Privacy Act 1988

Australia

The Privacy Act includes thirteen Australian Privacy Principles (APPs). The APPs
set out standards, rights and obligations for the handling, holding, use, accessing
and correction of personal information (including sensitive information).

Australia

Sensitive Information includes information regarding
not just facts, but opinions regarding

persons or readily identifiable persons. See
https://www.oaic.gov.au/privacy-law/.
https://www.apnews.com/f7055883421c4082a0d8bbb

Anti-Encryption Act

Australia

The Anti-Encryption Act forces corporations i.e. Google to disable encryptions
protection to better allow police officials to stay alert. Implementation of the
unprecedented law is controversial since many believe its undermining global
privacy. The encryptions are also protected under cryptography. See
https://fee.org/articles/australia-s-unprecedented-encryption-law-is-a-threat-to-
global-privacy/

Australia

Information Technology Amendment
Act and the Information Act

India

India is not a part of any convention on protection of personal data that is
equivalent to the GDPR. India has adopted other international declarations and
conventions including the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the
International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, these acts recognize the
right to privacy. The Supreme Court of India recognized the right to privacy as a
fundamental right under the Indian Constitution in 2017. Privacy and data is
protected by Information Technology Amendment Act and the Information Act.

India

European Union (EU)-Japan
Economic Partnership Agreement
(EPA)

Japan

reciprocal adequacy arrangement that established the equivalence of the EU’s
General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and Japan’s Act on the Protection of
Personal Information (APPI) and enabling cross-border data transfers between
the two. Japan was previously not included in the EU’s 'whitelist' of countries
considered as having adequate levels of personal data protection.

EU and Japan

has allowed for easier transfer of private information
between the two and has now initiated Japan as the 1st
G7 nations to be included. This eliminated the need for
clauses and contractual agreements. See
://iapp.org/news/a/gdpr-matchup-japans-act-on-the-

1. Personal Data Law
2. Data Localization Plan

Russia

In 2014, Russia adopted personal data localization rules. These rules required all
operators that collect and process Russian citizens personal data to use
databases located in Russia. These requirements apply to the personal data of all
Russian citizens, regardless of their relation with the company. The new rules
do not cross-border transfer of personal data. However, the requirement for

Russia

Data Localization Plans now backed with big fines.
https://www.jdsupra.com/legalnews/data-localization-
in-russia-now-backed-18981/

Personal Information Protection and
Electronic Documents Act (PIPDEA)

Canada

primary data processing via Russian databases is considered to be onerous.
< e
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the PIPDEA law that covers data privacy in Canada. In general, Canada privacy is
sufficient. However, organizations in British Columbia and Nova Scotia that do
businesses with quasi-governmental entities such as banks & transportation are
subject to FIPPA, especially article 30, which prohibits transfer of data outside of
Canada. PIPDEA laws regard the requirements necessary for private-sector
commercial activities. Individual consent must be obtained for the collection,
use, and disclosure of any personal information, and must also be used in the
manner it was intended for. Also, if a province has laws that are deemed
'substantially similar' to PIPDEA, a class of organizations or activities can be
exempt.https://www.priv.gc.ca/en/privacy-topics/privacy-laws-in-canada/the-
personal-information-protection-and-electronic-documents-act-pipeda/r_o_p/

Canada

Clerk Notes

Added in the whole Notes section.

Added in the whole Notes section.

Added row

Added the last two sentences to the "information" section.

See https://www.opengovasia.com/the-current-state-of-cyber-security-in-india/

Added the whole notes section.

Added in the whole line




