VEHICLES USED FOR OFFICIAL BUSINESS
Vehicle Title and Registration Application Checklist

Title and registration applications for municipal corporations, including law enforcement, must be processed by the BMV Municipal
Processing department. Prior to submitting each application, verify all required information is included.
Contact (888) 692-6841 with any questions.

When submitting paperwork, include the following:

Title Application Requirements

O Application for Certificate of Title for a Vehicle — State Form 205

L1  Original certificate of title or manufacturer’s certificate of origin

1 Physical Inspection of a Vehicle or Watercraft — State Form 39530. Required for vehicles purchased outside of
Indiana.

] Odometer Disclosure Statement — State Form 43230 (if odometer statement is not completed on the certificate
of title or certificate or origin). Trailers and vehicles over 16,000 pounds are exempt.

[0 ST108E — Certificate of Gross Retail or Use Tax Exemption — State Form 48841

[0  Collection of Payment Information - State Form 56163. Submit payment for the following vehicle title application
fees and taxes. Payable by MasterCard or Visa, check, electronic check, or money order.

O  $15 title application fee.

e  $30 additional administrative penalty will be assessed if the title application packet is not received
within 45 days after the date of purchase.

0  $25 speed title fee. This optional fee is in addition to the $15 title application fee. Paying the optional
speed title fee ensures that the title is processed in a period of time that is substantially shorter than the
normal processing period.

J  Vehicle color: (List color on line)
1 Vehicle fuel type (select one):
1 Gasoline 1 Diesel 1 Hybrid
] Electric 1 Other
Reaqistration Application Requirements
O  Application for Registration of Vehicles Used for Official Business — State Form 53565
[0  Copy of Indiana certificate of title or Application for Certificate of Title for a Vehicle — State Form 205 (if already titled
to applicant)
0 Copy of the lease agreement or Statement of Existing Lease Agreement — State Form 12787 (if the vehicle is being
leased from a leasing company)
] Safety inspection completed by ISP for all municipally owned school buses

For your convenience, the required forms are hyperlinked in this checklist. The forms are also available at
https://www.in.gov/bmv/titles/title-forms/ and https://www.in.gov/bmv/registration-plates/registration-forms/. Mail this checklist

and all completed forms to:

Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Central Office Municipal Processing
100 North Senate Avenue, Room N415
Indianapolis, IN 46204

If the BMV determines that sufficient credible evidence exists to substantiate the applicant’s claim of ownership, a title/
registration will be issued. If all required documents are not submitted or information is incomplete, the entire application
will be returned.

Please include this checklist with your application.



https://www.in.gov/bmv/titles/title-forms/
https://www.in.gov/bmv/registration-plates/registration-forms/
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=13378
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=9624
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=4736
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=7261
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=5061
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=14984
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=12817
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