SALVAGE MOTOR VEHICLE
Title Application Checklist

A salvage title is required for motor vehicles manufactured within the last seven model years that have been wrecked or
damaged. When requested, a salvage title may be issued for a vehicle over seven model years old.

Salvage title applications are processed by BMV Central Office. Prior to submitting each application, verify all required
information is included. Contact (888) 692-6841 with any questions.

When submitting paperwork, include the following:

O

[m]

Application for Certificate of Title for a V ehicle — State Form 205

Salvage Title Affidavit - State Form 49891

Certificate of title

o

If the certificate of title is issued by a state other than Indiana, a completed Physical Inspection of a
Vehicle or Watercraft — State Form 39530 must be provided.

Proof of the date of settlement provided by the insurance company (if owner of the salvage vehicle is retaining
possession of the salvage vehicle)

Collection of Payment Information - State Form 56163. Submit payment for the following vehicle title

application fees and taxes. Payable by MasterCard or Visa, check, electronic check, or money order.

O
O

$4 salvage title application fee.

$10 additional administrative penalty will be assessed on a title application packet received 45 days
after the purchase date. If the owner of the salvage vehicle retains possession of the salvage vehicle,
the owner must apply for a certificate of salvage title not later than 45 days after the settlement of loss
with the insurance company.

$25 speed title fee. This optional fee is in addition to the $4 salvage title application fee. Paying the
optional speed title fee ensures that the title is processed in a period of time that is substantially
shorter than the normal processing period.

If salvage vehicle is transferring ownership, include 7% sales tax of the purchase price or provide
proof of sales tax paid on an ST108- Certificate of Gross Retail or Use Tax Paid — State

Form 48842. If ownership is being maintained, or if exempt from sales tax, include an

ST108E — Certificate of Gross Retail or Use Tax Exemption — State Form 44841.

Vehicle color: (List color on line)

For your convenience, the required forms are hyperlinked in this checklist. The forms are also available at
https://www.in.gov/bmvi/titles/title-forms/. Mail this checklist and all completed forms to:

If the BMV det
issued. If a
returned.

Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Central Office Title Processing

100 North Senate Avenue, Room N411
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Please include this checklist with your application.


https://www.in.gov/bmv/titles/title-forms/
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=13378
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=7261
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=2700
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=14984
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=12817
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=5658
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