
 

New Manufactured Home 
Title Application Checklist 

 
When applying for an Indiana title for a new manufactured home, the following documents are 
required: 
 

 Certificate of Origin (C of O) or Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO). If the 
manufactured home was manufactured in more than one unit, the C of O/MSO is required 
for each unit. If a C of O/MSO cannot be provided, the purchaser must obtain a Court 
Order. Once the Court Order is issued, the purchaser must apply for title by submitting the 
Court Order Application Packet. 
 

 Proof of Sales Tax Paid or Not Paid. 
• If sales tax was paid to an Indiana dealer/non-dealer, a Certification of Sales of 

Manufactured Homes or Industrial Building Systems (ST108MH) – State Form 
35838 is required. 

• If sales tax was not collected, or if the seller is an out-of-state dealer/non- dealer 
who collected the sales tax, a Bill of Sale or Purchase Agreement is required. 
 

 Power of Attorney (POA), if applicable. A copy of the POA documents and the 
appointed POA’s driver license or identification card is required at time of application. 
 

 Physical Inspection of a Vehicle or Watercraft – State Form 39530 - Must be 
completed by law enforcement.  

• A new manufactured home going into the name of a dealer licensed by the 
Indiana Secretary of State is excluded from this requirement. 
 

 Mobile Home Permit – State Form 7878 - Must be completed by the County Treasurer.  
• The permit cannot be accepted after its expiration date.  
• The permit must bear an official seal from the County Treasurer. 
• Since the seller is required to provide the buyer a mobile home permit at the time of 

purchase, the permit must list the seller as the owner.  
 

 For Established Indiana Residents: One proof of Indiana Residency. An Indiana 
driver’s license or identification card may be accepted as proof if the address on the 
credential is correct. If the address is not correct, any document from the approved BMV 
documentation list that is dated within the past 60 days may be used as proof. To view the 
approved BMV documentation list, click on the link provided or visit myBMV.com. 

 
 For New Indiana Residents/Out-of-State Residents: An Out-of-State Driver’s License 

or Identification Card, Proof of Social Security Number, and Proof of Address. Proofs 
of address must be dated within the past 60 days. A list of acceptable proofs of Social 
Security Number and address is located on the approved BMV documentation list. 

 
 

Visit any Indiana BMV license branch to apply for an Indiana manufactured home title. 
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